Book Avis hire cars in Los Angeles

Los Angeles, CA, United States
25 Sep — 2 Oct
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Sat 25/9
Noon
Sat 2/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Los Angeles

Overall rating6.0 GoodBased on 223 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.7
Overall
5.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.2
Value for money
6.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
19
14
9
21
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:Nothing, it's fraudulent placeCons:Being honestReviewed 28 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Poor serviceCons:Just been charged £60 for what I don’t know. Returned the car got a chit saying I had zero to pay after the inspection and fuel check. No email explaining what the charge was for. Also car was in poor condition. Rear parcel shed missing so our luggage was permanently on display.Reviewed 14 May 2018
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:YesCons:Unfortunately, the battery died. Getting the national 1-800 people to organize a jump locally didn't work.Reviewed 8 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Shut it down and go on the junkyard businessReviewed 9 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Air Condition did not work. There is no excuse for renting a car with no air.Reviewed 10 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
What is the point of reserving a car onlinePros:absolutely nothingCons:I rented a mid-size car online, showed up and the only car was a minivan. I paid for the insurance online THROUGH YOUR WEBSITE, and when i showed up they told me it wouldn't cover the car since it was through a third party so i had to pay for insurance AGAIN. The car rental ended up being $50 more than stated on your website and what i agreed paying. Please contact me if you if you care to explain any of these. Otherwise if I don't hear back, my assumption will be confirmed that you are a greedy company who care more about your top line than the well-being of your customers.Reviewed 10 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Wrong Location, Poor Customer ServicePros:the car was new, clean and worked well for us. the rental agent allowed us to return the car to LAX without charge when I explained how we had thought this location was at LAX but had rented through Kayak. She said there had been several other customers who had a similar problemCons:When I finally arrived at this location, (I had thought my rental was at LAX, and had to take a cab to this location instead, at a cost of $60) there was no one there, and the doors were locked. The only information on the door indicated that they are open until 2pm. It was 12:30. I called Avis, and they were unable to tell me anything more. They offered to send me to yet another location instead, but when I called that location, they had no car rentals available. Finally an agent returned and unlocked the doors. She did not greet me and the two other customers who had arrived while we waited. When I got up to the counter I started explaining to her what had happened, and she just shrugged and told me she had been on her lunch break. Then she took a call and dealt with that instead of taking care of me. She finally got us taken care of and did give me a credit to return the car at LAX, but never apologized or indicated she was sorry for all I had gone through to get this rental car. How hard is it to hang a sign on the door to tell frustrated travelers that you will be back? A locked door just indicates that you are closed. Personally, I'll never use AVIS again.Reviewed 22 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Pickup and Dropoff are SubparPros:The car didn't break down so that's good.Cons:Incredibly long lines to pick up the car with not enough staff......45 minute wait in line simply to pick up the car, not good. Then.....at Drop-off, no agents in sight to check-in the car. Lots of folks standing around looking clueless because we didn't k ow what to do. I had to walk to the building and find some reps chatting outside and point out that myself and several others were standing around waiting for someone to check their car in and issue a receipt. I told them that we were risking missing out flight. Eventually someone did come. Overall - not a good experience with either pick-up or drop-off.Reviewed 7 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Awful servicePros:I liked the carCons:The service was awful. I waited for 1 and a half hours to rent a car. There were 8 people working the counter with room for st least 5 more. The manager had to keep leaving a station To put out fires the other people were having. So really then there were only 7 people working. I don't know why if they know that they get this busy on a Friday night they don't have more people working. The one guy kept on saying this is a typical Friday night in LA. People waiting were so angry. Many people took more than 25 minutes each to get a car rented. If u have a reservation it should only take the 10 minutes it took me. One group of people stood there at the counter for 45 minutes trying to rent something. It was just ridiculous- I won't rent from Avis again. I almost went to enterprise but I could get over there easily. NEVER AGAIN !!!!Reviewed 13 Sep 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Absolutely nothing. Customer services was bad all around, sent me to the wrong pickup location and when I was sent half way across LA by a rep at the lax location the office was closed.Cons:They told me that the promo “was no longer valid” and charged me an extra $45/day and it is now taking weeks of customer service calls to get it taken care of.Reviewed 29 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:The pick up location at loews hotel hollywood was closed. No one informed us about that. We wasted a lot of time wondering what was going on. Then we went to 1333 N highland ave for nearest avis. The lady working there was extremely rude. Had 0 idea about customer service. She made it seem like she was giving us the car for free. I booked an SUV and they didn’t even have an suv. I appreciate they had a car for me, but it was Avis’s fault in the first place to close down a location and not inform peopleReviewed 15 Feb 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Pick up was a disaster. When I went to pick up the car at my scheduled time, I found the entire pick up location was closed down. I had just booked the car two days before, and should have been notified that this location was closed. The Call Center was completely unhelpful, and I was disconnected three times, leaving me to explain the situation to three different representatives. I was put on hold for ten minutes to talk to a supervisor, who had no authority to do anything. I had to take a taxi to a different location who wanted to charge me three times the original price to rent the car. Bad experience!Reviewed 3 Feb 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Los Angeles?

9217 Airport Boulevard, Avis car hires

Address

9217 Airport Boulevard

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 310 342 9200

Address

888 South Figueroa Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 213 533 8400

Address

1234 Westwood Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 310 446 4190

Address

11656 Ventura Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 818 754 1322

Address

9545 Reseda Boulevard Unit 5

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 818 718 9960

Address

1755 N Highland Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 323 380 4320

Address

11901 Santa Monica Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 310 914 7700

Address

19228 Ventura Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 818 758 0030

Address

3600 Wilshire Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 213 381 2814

Address

7521 Lankershim Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 818 255 4799

Address

647 Mateo Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 213 742 9632

Address

1333 N Highland Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 323 460 2165

Address

800 North Alameda Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 213 617 2137

Address

700 West 7th Street, Ste A 200

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 626 380 9620

Good to know

Most popular location

9217 Airport Boulevard

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Los Angeles

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Los Angeles are around 23% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Los Angeles

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Los Angeles.

  • Avis has 14 car hire locations in Los Angeles. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes