Book Avis hire cars in Richmond

Richmond, VA, United States
15 Dec — 22 Dec
Same drop-off
Richmond, VA, United States
Thu 15/12
Noon
Thu 22/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Richmond

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Richmond

Overall rating6.3 GoodBased on 58 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.6
Overall
6.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.3
Value for money
6.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
19
5
9
17
2
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
I will not be renting from Avis again at least at this location as I waited 4 hours to pick up my vehicle. If anything I'd like a half of refund for the cost of the rental for that horrible experience. There's no reason then you had such a few staff members on with so many people in line to pick up vehiclesReviewed 27 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
This was our worst experience -ever - with rental cars. We had a confirmed reservation before leaving Chicago for a 9 day trip to Boston, Washington DC, and Richmond VA. We only need the car for our Richmond leg of the trip. As we were in the Amtrak train station awaiting our train to Richmond, we received a text message informing us that our car reservation was cancelled because they didn’t have any cars available (supposedly because of some “accident”). We tried contacting Avis for a further explanation and possible alternative options. No luck! Our hotel reservation in Richmond was in a location that made trying to get around by walking impossible. We were there to visit our grandson who is attending the University of Richmond.. we were in Richmond fo 3 nights. We were able to use Lyft to get from our hotel to the school, but we wanted to do more in the way of sightseeing and visit colonial Williamsburg. We also needed a car for transport from our hotel to the airport for our return flight to Chicago and luggage storage between hotel checkout (11 am) and departure time (5 pm). So, all in all, Avis’s last minute cancellation of our confirmed reservation was nerve-racking and terribly distressing for us.Reviewed 23 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Price. My military granddaughter rented the vehicle for me since I was on VACATION to help her. However, when I needed to extend another day, I was not granted the discount 🤬🤬. The vehicle did not have even a drop of windshield wash and the inside of the windshield was horrendously dirty. Not really excited to rent from Avis againReviewed 30 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
I showed up at the desk and the car was not availableReviewed 20 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Worse rental experience ever. I reserved a pickup truck at the local store. One hour before I left to get the car, they called to let me know they did not have a pickup truck but failed to offer alternatives. Because I needed the car that day, I called their customer service and they told me to go to the airport to get one. Mind you the new reservation at the airport is costing me $30 extra. What made it worse is that I drove 40 min to get to the airport and still no pickup truck available. I basically lost my day trying to obtain a pickup truck thay i dully reserved (twice).Reviewed 20 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
The representative that checked me in and out was fantastic! She was very professional and well spoken. The gentleman that details the cars and did the car inspection was fantastic as well. They were so accommodating and pleasant. The car was immaculate too. I told the young lady at the counter how pleasant the experience was and that I will be back and I will. Thank you!😊Reviewed 1 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
They did not have any cars for anyone. I do not understand how you can confirm a booking but have no carsReviewed 25 Apr 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Car was a piece of junk. Many warning lights going off. Pickup took too long…waiting in long lines both inside at the counter and outside at the booth blowsReviewed 19 Apr 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Pickup - Was great. The associate was very friendly and helpful and had great customer service. Dropoff - I felt like since the rental was done so was the customer service. Customers should not be allowed to select 5pm as a return time if that is when the store closes. The associate at the location near Willow Lawn showed no concern about helping me turn the car in a few minutes after, and I had to drive back to another location I had just come from. When asking for confirmation about everything being fine this morning (at the original location), that associate seemed unwilling to spend a few minutes to help confirm the pickoff was registered. I heard a comment about being full-lobbied and was deemed not as important. On the other hand, the associate at the other Broad location where the car was actually dropped off, was much more helpful in willing to take a few minutes to talk to me. I will not be renting from the pickup location for a good while.Reviewed 16 Feb 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy and excellent. Thank youReviewed 16 Jan 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
Customer service could have been a lot better. Was charged a whole day for being late will never go with Avis againReviewed 28 Nov 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Car was very dirty when I picked it up. Had to pull into a gas station to clean the windows and mirrors. Then a few miles down the road the windshield wiper fluid light and buzzer came on every time I came to a stop. Had to buy a bottle of water at a grocery store to add to the reservoir to stop the buzzing. Very dissappointed with the car given the high rental priceReviewed 9 Nov 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Richmond?

7923 West Broad Street, Avis car hires

Address

7923 West Broad Street

Hours

Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Monday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 804 270 0888

Address

8231 Midlothian Turnpike

Hours

Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Monday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 804 272 1476

Address

1 Richard E Byrd Terminal Dr

Hours

Thursday06:30 - 23:59
Friday06:30 - 23:59
Monday06:30 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday06:30 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday06:30 - 23:59

Phone

+1 804 222 7416

Address

4204 West Broad Street

Hours

Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Monday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 804 254 4146

Good to know

Most popular location

1 Richard E Byrd Terminal Dr

Most popular car type

Full-size

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Richmond

  • Full-size car hire from Avis in Richmond are around 15% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Richmond