Book Avis hire cars in Memphis

Memphis, TN, United States
3 Feb — 10 Feb
Same drop-off
Memphis, TN, United States
Fri 3/2
Noon
Fri 10/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Memphis

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Memphis

Overall rating6.6 OkayBased on 67 reviews
Cleanliness
6.6
Comfort
6.9
Overall
6.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
16
8
3
8
2
0
24
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
The car was dirty and smelled like smoke.Reviewed 24 Jan 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
I have been trying to rent a car with Avis for over a month. They wait until I get a ride two hours away and then call me at the last minute, or not at all, and tell me that they do not have any available cars. This has happened to me 11 times now. Due to this, I received a coupon from Customer Service for 4 Days Free Rental and the Store Manager at the Collierville location lied to me about having cars, and the total that she was running my card for. Then told me she could not rent to me because my credit card declined, even though I called my Credit Card company and cleared up the issue. She said that it was company policy that they were not allowed to run a card twice; which is a lie. They ran another customer's card 5 times while I was standing there. She also called another location, trying to pass me off to them, and told the manager there that she could not run my card again because it would mess up my coupon, not because it was company policy that they could not run the card twice. She knew this was a lie. All of this was heard by my credit card company on a recorded line.Reviewed 13 Sep 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
The in person service was great, but the phone service trying to get the car was awful. Ended up having to spend an additional day in town because of it. The place I was the originally pick up the car was CLOSED. Always closed on Sundays! When I called I was sent to a second location, and they were out of cars! Said that all the places in the area (at 11am) were out of cars. Even though I had reserved one. Finally got a car the next day from a very nice woman at the original location I was supposed to pick up from. Car was fine, but very dirty and trashed on the inside. Wouldn’t book again.Reviewed 23 Aug 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
I never got the car, because when I arrived in Memphis I was informed they were sold out. ridiculous.Reviewed 25 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
When we arrived at the Memphis Airport at 0900 with a reservation, we expected to get a vehicle fairly quick. However we ended up waiting for 1 hour and 45 minutes. The lady working appeared to be disinterested with anyones concerns and refused to offer any help. In the meantime I walked to the second floor and saw several vehicles available that were being held for Avis Preferred and were still in the lot when we finally received our car almost two hours later.Reviewed 17 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
We arrived at 7:00 to pick up a car we reserved at Memphis airport. When we arrived we were told (unapologetically) that there were no cars available, that there was a waitlist 20 families long and that we would get a car as each car came in and they worked down the waitlist. They were flippant about the fact that there were no cars available and when I asked why, her comment was, “they overbook”. We waited about 1.5 hours for a car. We ran into a family that got there around 7:45 and they had the unfortunate luck to not get a car till midnight. Apparently, people that came in after them were turned away at night, carless. Shame on Avis for overbooking!Reviewed 22 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
There was no agent at the offiice! I called the Avis 800 number 6 times and was on hold for 1.5 hours total. They repeatedly lied to me. I never got a car! I was furiousReviewed 21 May 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Agent was very friendly, recognizing this was my first car rental and guiding me through it.Reviewed 18 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
It was nothing that I like you guys canceled my car and I was stuck in another state without a carReviewed 17 May 2022
review fromcheapflights
6.0
The rental was extended and then it became very pricey.Reviewed 17 May 2022
review fromcheapflights
6.0
Final charge was double original quote because of different fees.Reviewed 5 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
There was no car available when I showed up at the place that you gave me to rent fromReviewed 30 Apr 2022
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Memphis?

2491 Winchester Rd, Avis car hires

Address

2491 Winchester Rd

Hours

Friday07:00 - 23:59
Tuesday07:00 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Monday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59
Thursday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 901 345 2847

Address

224 Madison

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 901 527 1138

Address

2760 Germantown Parkway

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 901 937 1443

Address

1264 E Shelby Drive

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 901 398 1167

Address

939 Ridge Lake Blvd

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 901 761 5145

Good to know

Most popular location

224 Madison

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Memphis

  • Compact car hire from Avis in Memphis are around 37% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Memphis