Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Indianapolis

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 25/4
Thu 2/5
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 43%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Indianapolis

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Indianapolis

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.3 OkayBased on 36 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.2
Value for money
6.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
2
0
2
0
0
8
4.0
cleanlinessReviewed 25 Sep 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Car was damaged and in rough shape.Reviewed 23 May 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Was 2 yrs ago. Don't remember.Reviewed 25 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They cancelled 3 days beforeReviewed 13 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Cons:Avis tried to sell me on almost $1K worth of car insurance despite purchasing with Allianz via Kayak. They said they didn't see I had any coverage - I had an email saying otherwise. Extremely confusing and terrifying not understanding if I was covered or not. There was also only 1 person and a giant line started forming (it was 4pm...seem like a high traffic time so felt odd), so I didn't feel like I could even take a moment to better understand what I was paying for and waiving because I was with the ONLY person available. I was also sent to the wrong space number. And I wasn't told how to open the trunk of the car, which sounds stupid, but this one was hidden under one of the backlights (??? horrible design) so I stood at the car for 20 minutes pushing random areas of the trunk like a moron trying to open it. This is the 2nd terrible experience I've had with both Avis and Kayak. Last time ever - others beware. Check out other rental dealersReviewed 22 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Pick up and drop off was easy.Cons:Cleanliness of car upon pick up.Reviewed 30 Mar 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The car itself was a wonderful ride.Cons:The pick up was a nightmare and it was all over me using a debit card. The first person I spoke to refused to help me because I didn't have a Major credit card even though it stated online you can use a debit card with a return flight. Finally, after an hour a nice lady helped me and got me out the door with my car.Reviewed 5 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The car was great but they didn’t give it to me at my quoted price. I had to call customer service and am still trying to fix it.Cons:Horrible pickup experience!Waited an hour past my reso for the ONE worker to clean a car for the renter ahead of me, rent it to them, check in another group who just wanted to extend their rent, then go back to the garage &clean/vacuum the car I would be renting! Again, she was the ONLY PESON THERE!Reviewed 20 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Dirty van!Pros:The Indianapolis airport rental car experience is always easy. No bus, no shuttle, no hassle. It's arguably the best big airport rental car experience in the country.Cons:We rented an Avis 12-person passenger van. It was filthy and had two major dents on the outside. I was embarrassed to put my guests in this van and was told I had no alternative van to choose from. For the price ($500+) for three days, I was extremely disappointed. Avis is better than this.Reviewed 7 May 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
ExcellentPros:Very efficient.Cons:NothingReviewed 3 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Wrong vehicleCons:Reservation for a minivan turned into an SUV. The staff said that the 6 people + luggage would fit just fine. As we suspected, they did not. Our long planned one-way week-long road trip was ruined by Avis.Reviewed 31 Mar 2018
review fromkayak
7.6
Not available when expectedPros:When we were finally able to get the vehicle we had originally booked, it was clean, beautiful and more than we could hope for. We booked a premium SUV-Suburban and it came equipped with a dual DVD system, leather, trailer hitch, etc and was perfect for our trip with a family of 7 to Denver for a softball tournament.Cons:We were supposed to pick the vehicle up at 12. Upon arrival, they didn't have it and tried to give us a mini-van. Keep in mind, we are picking this up at an airport. He had someone drop him off, waited in line for 30 minutes and they didn't have the vehicle. later that day, they called and said they weren't sure they would get it in, and offered us a Tahoe. We needed the extra space in the back, and this isn't what we had booked. We declined, and called all other rental places to see if they happened to have a premium SUV available-there were none. Finally-they called around 4:30pm to let us know that it was available. If it weren't for this incident in getting the car, we would have said excellent. As far as the desk help-they couldn't have cared less that we were inconvenienced.Reviewed 5 Jul 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Indianapolis?

Address

7800 Col. H Weir Cook Memorial

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59
Thursday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Friday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Sunday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 317 244 3307

Address

33 North Capitol Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 317 236 1987

Address

6463 East 82nd Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 317 842 7765

Address

3905 West 96th Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 317 872 7780

Address

4555 North Keystone Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 317 541 0514

Address

7515 E Washington St

Hours

Monday09:00 - 12:00
Tuesday09:00 - 12:00
Wednesday09:00 - 12:00
Thursday09:00 - 12:00
Friday09:00 - 12:00
Saturday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 317 358 8101

Address

8225 West Washington Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 317 789 8734

Good to know

Most popular location

7800 Col. H Weir Cook Memorial

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Indianapolis

  • Avis car rentals in Indianapolis cover various travel needs during a trip. No matter the purpose, the car hire firm has various models to suit your taste and budget. For a classy and luxurious ride, the convertible will be an excellent choice. On the other hand, if traveling on a budget, the economy or compact car will be the better option. A compact car is also efficient if you have errands in the city center, thanks to the size, which makes it easy to navigate and park in busy areas. For a family vacation or when traveling to Indianapolis as a group, you might consider minivans or SUVs. You can choose between manual or automatic drive vehicles.
  • Once you book Avis car rentals in Indianapolis, you can get a membership to the Avis Preferred loyalty program that earns you points for every trip. As a new member, you will earn 100 points the first time you join and proceed to get 100 points every time you rent with Avis. As the points accumulate, you can redeem them and get the optional accessories during your vacation. Other benefits you will enjoy as a member of the loyalty program include priority service, a $15 coupon for your next trip after your second booking, and a free weekend voucher once you have made three rentals.
  • It is important to note that once you book Avis car rentals in Indianapolis, the cancellation policy will differ depending on the reservation. For instance, there is no cancellation fee for the pay-later reservations. All you need to do is issue the cancellation before the set date. If you prepaid the reservation with a credit card and wish to cancel, there will be a $50 deduction if cancellation is issued 24 hours or more before the selected pickup date. You may incur a higher charge of $150 for cancellation done within 24 hours of the pickup date. Avis will credit the refundable amount to the card in about seven working days. You do not need to visit their office.
  • Avis aims at ensuring customer satisfaction at all costs. The firm has received several honors from several bodies that measure a company's ability to cater to its clientele. Therefore, by reserving with Avis, you will receive quality services from a certified team. Be it on the organization's help desk or on-line, there will always be an agent willing to listen and solve your particular challenge at any time.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Indianapolis are around 38% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Indianapolis

  • Where are the best locations for booking Avis car rentals in Indianapolis?

    If you wish to book Avis in Indianapolis, you will have several pickup points to consider. First, you can opt for the Avis pickup location at Indianapolis International Airport (IND). This location is convenient if traveling with children and or having large suitcases. You can opt for other pickup locations, including 33 North Capitol Avenue; 3905 West 96th Street; 7515 Washington Street; and 6463 East 82nd Street.

  • What are the car rental benefits or amenities offered by Avis in Indianapolis?

    If you book Avis car rentals, you will not need to haul your equipment from home, as you can quickly get them cheaply. Some optional extras at Avis include bicycle racks, child seats, a navigation system, and an additional driver option. Additionally, with Avis, you can find helpful insurance packages, including the third-party damage waiver.

  • Where are the best places to park Avis car rentals in Indianapolis?

    With an Avis car rental in Indianapolis, consider parking in private garages downtown. Private garages carry the day, as street parking is hard to come by in the city center. If found, be ready to pay a fee of roughly $1.75 through the available parking meter. If available, valet parking by your hotel is an even better parking option during your visit to Indianapolis.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Indianapolis?

    Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Indianapolis.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Indianapolis?

    Avis has 7 hire locations in Indianapolis. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Indianapolis airport (IND)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Indianapolis airport (IND)?

    Yes