Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Fort Lauderdale

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 30/4
Tue 7/5
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 43%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Fort Lauderdale

Economy$211/day
Compact$204/day
Full-size$219/day
People mover$221/day
Pick-up truck$116/day
Intermediate SUV$227/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Fort Lauderdale

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.7 OkayBased on 116 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
14
3
1
4
0
0
19
2.0
Horrible experience sorry I went to kayak and Avis Ft. Lauderdale Avis sucks mistakenly rented from location 1/2 mile from airport Shuttle took us to rental center wrong location Avis agent wanted double the original price I asked how to get to correct location he said Uber or taxi and yes cars there were available Got a taxi went right there haha they were closed Avis rep didn’t tell us about they we’re closed it was 6pm Again , sorry I used kayak / Avis Signed UNHAPPY CUSTOMERReviewed 31 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
My experience with Avis Rental Cars at Fort Lauderdale Airport was disappointing. Despite making a reservation, I waited nearly an hour in line for check-in, which seemed excessive given the low number of customers. The staff aggressively pushed extra insurance coverage and were unpleasant when I declined. To make matters worse, the car I was initially given was parked in an aisle where returned vehicles were lined up, making it impossible to pull out. Despite requesting assistance from the staff and searching for the manager, it took an additional 30 minutes to locate and change my reservation to another car. Throughout all of this, the staff showed little concern and were unapologetic. It's frustrating that even with a reservation, it took nearly 1 hour and 30 minutes to leave the airport with my rental. This experience falls far short of expectations, and I won't be choosing Avis for future rentals.Reviewed 26 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
car could have been cleanerReviewed 15 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:As shears perfect serviceCons:Nothing.... you guys are greatReviewed 31 May 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very quick and easyCons:N/AReviewed 11 May 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:staff was friendly and helpfulCons:All went wellReviewed 11 May 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Even with a reservation, I waited 2 hours to get my car. There was only one person working and everyone was pissed. I was in HELL. I only rented because my flight was cancelled. NEVER AVIS again. Enterprise all the way. Also way overpriced especially since it was SUCH a horrible experience. I plan on telling everyone I know to avoid AVIS.Cons:More people working, like 4XReviewed 9 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Place closed at 2pm ... i could have never made the pickup.Cons:Closing time should have been flagged .. I had to rent another car from the airport - staff would not honor the original deal a day later for the same class of car - car had a dirty windshield inside and out ans had an unevenly worn front tire that made excessive noiseReviewed 19 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Drop off was very east. Pick up was a little confusing.Reviewed 12 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Staff canceled our reservation without informing us. They were rude and unhelpful about the whole thing.Cons:I understand being busy during spring break, but calling to inform customers that there aren't enough cars is the absolute bare minimum that they should have done, but they couldn't be bothered to even do that. Horrible company.Reviewed 31 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:nothingCons:everythingReviewed 4 Jan 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The process was smoothe, I had a nice vehicle at an affordable price.Cons:Honestly my only complaint is that this particular vehicle had a faint but distinct smell of cigarettes most likely because of prev renter. If cigs, don't bother you then you gucci. If they could spray the car down with some neutralizing air freshener situation that'd be great but then you'd get ppl who have allergies complain about that, so you can't win. Eh, drive with the windows down? Haha.Reviewed 5 Dec 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Fort Lauderdale?

Address

600 Terminal Drive 3rd Floor

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 954 359 2500

Address

2301 Southeast 17th Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 954 766 2666

Address

701 East Sunrise Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 954 462 7400

Address

2520 Miami Rd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 954 713 1500

Address

155 Nw 3rd Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 16:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 754 312 3203

Address

3101 Bayshore Dr

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 16:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 754 312 3198

Good to know

Most popular location

600 Terminal Drive 3rd Floor

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Fort Lauderdale

  • If you’re looking to get a car rental in Fort Lauderdale, you should consider getting one from Avis. Not only do they have an extensive fleet of vehicles available for rent, but they also have multiple locations all over Fort Lauderdale, giving you the convenience to choose whichever shop is nearest to you. For example, if you are coming into Fort Lauderdale via FLL Airport, you can easily pick up your car from the rental shop at the airport. There are other rental shops near the train station as well as in downtown Fort Lauderdale.
  • As you book your Avis car rental in Fort Lauderdale, you should know that parking is available in plenty all over Fort Lauderdale. If you’re downtown, you can use the street parking spaces there. Unlike other cities, you don’t need to be a resident to park at certain places in Fort Lauderdale. As long as you pay the parking meter, you’re good to go. If you want to go for more secure parking, there are a few parking lots and garages such as Riverwalk Parking Garage and Las Olas Parking Garage, where you can leave your rental car.
  • Avis Car Rentals provides customers with additional features on their rental cars to improve the experience. For instance, if you will be driving the car with kids on board, you can ask them to fit in a child seat or a booster seat depending on the age of the child. You can also ask them to install a GPS so that you can be able to navigate the streets of Fort Lauderdale much easier.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Fort Lauderdale, you have the option to cancel your reservation for free in case you have a change of plans. With most vehicles, you don’t have to pay any deposit beforehand and your card will be charged only if you show up to pick up the rental car. If you wish to change the reservation dates, you can also do that without any charges by simply calling the company and informing them of the new dates.
  • Book your car hire from Avis in Fort Lauderdale at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Fort Lauderdale are around 75% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Fort Lauderdale

  • How do I pay for the toll roads in Fort Lauderdale?

    There are multiple ways through which you can pay for the toll roads in Fort Lauderdale. You can either pay by cash, through a SunPass, or pay by plate. However, the best way for visitors to pay the tollways is through a Visitor Toll Pass. Through this method, you won’t incur any service fees and you’ll be charged the lowest toll rate on toll roads throughout Florida. However, you will have to part with a $10 deposit which will be used towards your transactions.

  • Can I return my rental car to a different location from where I picked it up?

    Since Avis has multiple rental locations in Fort Lauderdale, customers can choose the most convenient location for them. You can also choose to drop your rental car off at a different location from the original pick-up location. However, you need to inform the agency beforehand that you intend on switching locations and then they can give you the green light and make the necessary arrangements on their side.

  • Which is the best rental car to go for in Fort Lauderdale?

    As you book Avis car rentals in Fort Lauderdale, you should opt for a convertible model. This allows you to enjoy the beautiful streets of Fort Lauderdale while driving and you can also enjoy the sunshine and beautiful weather that is synonymous with Fort Lauderdale. In addition, the city has very smooth roads so you don’t need a big car to handle the terrain.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Fort Lauderdale?

    Intermediate (Kia Forte or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Fort Lauderdale.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Fort Lauderdale?

    Avis has 6 hire locations in Fort Lauderdale. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Fort Lauderdale airport (FLL)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Fort Lauderdale airport (FLL)?

    Yes