Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Saint Thomas Island

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 25/6
Tue 2/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Saint Thomas Island

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Saint Thomas Island

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating4.1 MediocreBased on 5 reviews
Cleanliness
5.5
Comfort
3.6
Overall
4.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.0
Value for money
5.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
10.0
Pros:Staff was awesome. Car was brand new. Washed, clean inside. Easy pick up and drop off!Reviewed 23 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Rental desk was easily accessible after entering airport.Cons:Staff was rude, car was in rough shape and had front tires that were bald. The drop off process was confusing. No attendant went over the car during pick up or drop offReviewed 18 Mar 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:The car was not available when I arrived. I never rented itReviewed 16 Dec 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:staff was courteous but for some reason me and my wife had to hop on a $10 each taxi to get a ride from the airport to another Avis location to pick up the car. So extra $20. They did not provide a courtesy shuttle.Cons:What could be better? Well for one - a courtesy shuttle or have the car available at the Avis location at the airport. 2 - not give me a car that had a scratch or a dent on EVERY panel. and 3 - not give me a car with a BULLET HOLE on the top of the roof. Yep. We had the most gangsta car rental on the island.Reviewed 24 Nov 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing since they didn’t honor my reservation despite confirming it 4 days prior to traveling traveling. Further, no one even offered any help finding another car.Cons:Starting with don’t overbook, Avis should at least pay a penalty to confirmed renters if they cannot fulfill their obligationsReviewed 6 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Rental car disaster in paradise...Pros:I did like that the car was clean, it was the car I reserved.Cons:Avis did not have my car! I land on an island and now I am stranded at the airport with no car, Avis tells me its Kayak's fault, and Kayak's office was closed. NO one was willing to help me on either side. I had to take a cab to the airport and come back the next day to the same location to get a car that was already there. It was bad, I had to spend my first 2 days of vacation dealing with this rental car reservation. No thanks AVIS or Kayak.Reviewed 15 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
August in St. Thomas???Pros:The A/C worked great!!!Reviewed 17 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:The car had Cockroaches....Reviewed 1 May 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:1-Sport button to use on hills in St Thomas & St John helped significantly. 2-Yaris had very comfortable ride & good trunk size. space. 3-Yaris had great turning radius.Cons:1- Horn didn't work! Would've been helpful to use on a few occasions. 2- No windshield fluid! Empty. 3- Didn't realize there's a $500 refundable holding fee on all debit transactions.Reviewed 20 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:It didn't break down.Cons:I thought I was booking Avis at the airport... turns out I booked Avis by the "docks". Had to take a 20 minute shuttle to the office I made a res at. Car was older... dented and scratched. Check tire pressure was on.Reviewed 10 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Car below Avis standardPros:They did allow me to return it to the airportCons:Vehicle was pretty beat up. Not up to standards I thought Avis would have. Rental was deceiving, as I thought I was picking up at the airport only to find I had to pay $24 for two of us to take a packed van taxi about 2 miles into town to pick up. Car was not there when we arrived and low and behold, we had to wait for the location to get one from (where else) the airport!! Go figure.Reviewed 24 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
pickup location switchingCons:website car rental pickup location was switched automatically (without user intervention) during the reservation process.Reviewed 7 Mar 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Saint Thomas Island?

Address

6B-F Estate Thomas

Hours

Monday08:00 - 12:0013:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 12:0013:00 - 17:00
Wednesday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:0013:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 12:0013:00 - 17:00
Saturday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Sunday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 340 774 6660

Address

3400 Veterans Drive

Hours

Monday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Tuesday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Wednesday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:0013:00 - 17:00
Friday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Saturday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00
Sunday13:00 - 17:0008:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 340 690 4935

Good to know

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Saint Thomas Island

  • Travelers who decide to book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands, will have access to everything this beautiful tropical island has to offer. The island is chock-full of incredible beaches on all sides, so you will need a rental car to get from one to the next to experience it all. Most people have to get to the island by plane, so you can conveniently pick up your rental car from Avis right when you land on Saint Thomas Island.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, you have plenty of makes and models of vehicles to choose from, so you can find something to fit both your needs and your budget. A minivan or SUV might do the trick if you are traveling with family. For budget travelers, a compact, or economy vehicle will suffice. Those looking to travel in style and elegance can consider renting a luxury vehicle.
  • Located between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, this tropical paradise is situated a short ferry ride away from other islands like Saint John. If you plan to take your Avis rental car on the ferry across the bay to Saint John, you will need to let the agency know in advance. Taking your vehicle on the ferry may not be allowed for some categories; if it is allowed, you may need to fill out extra paperwork or pay extra fees.
  • The Avis team in Saint Thomas Island is known for their friendly and helpful approach to customer service. When you book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, you will enjoy support at any time of day or night in case you need it. The Avis staff can also help by giving you local driving tips and recommendations for things to do and see during your stay in Saint Thomas Island.
  • Compact car hire from Avis in Saint Thomas Island are around 45% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Saint Thomas Island

  • Where is the best place to pick up Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands?

    Avis's only pick-up location in Saint Thomas Island is at the Cyril E. King Airport (STT), the only airport in Saint Thomas. You will be traveling to Saint Thomas Island by plane anyway, so this is a great location to pick up your rental car immediately and get to your final destination. The rental car counters at this airport are located directly on-site in the arrivals area near the baggage claim.

  • Why should I book Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands?

    Avis car rentals in Saint Thomas Island has been rated the 5th best rental car pick-up/drop-off location in the world, so you can be sure that you will enjoy quick and professional service. The entire fleet is modern, so you can be sure that you will be secure and comfortable in your rental car. Avis in Saint Thomas Island also participates in the Avis Preferred program, so if you are a member of this rewards program, you can earn points towards free rental days.

  • Where are some good places I can park my Avis car rental in Saint Thomas Island, U.S. Virgin Islands?

    As the population of Saint Thomas Island is small, you will almost always be able to find parking for your rental car. The Fort Christian paid lot is near the waterfront and is quite popular. You can also utilize the USVIParking lot, the Popular Parking Garage, or the Student Residential Parking Lot. Most resorts and hotels also offer free parking to guests on the premises, so you don’t have to worry about paying for overnight parking, so check with your chosen accommodation in advance. 

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Saint Thomas Island?

    Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Saint Thomas Island.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Saint Thomas Island?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Saint Thomas Island. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Cyril E King airport (STT)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Cyril E King airport (STT)?

    Yes