Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Newark

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 23/7
Tue 30/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 41%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Newark

Economy$80/day
Compact$81/day
Intermediate$81/day
Standard$111/day
Full-size$134/day
Full-size SUV$121/day
Premium$110/day
Passenger van$250/day
Luxury$102/day
Premium SUV$142/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Newark

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.1 GoodBased on 126 reviews
Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.8
Overall
7.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.3
Value for money
7.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
19
12
2
9
1
0
15
2.0
Rude and unprofessional agent. Charged 60% more than quoted - never againReviewed 27 Feb 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
The tires on the car were very old and not winter tires. I had terrible experience and very hard time driving through the snowy weather. The car itself was very old and over used. My experience was very poorReviewed 8 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
Really long lines to get the vehicle in Newark. Not a great selection.Reviewed 24 Sept 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Lines and wait were long even though prechecked. Vending machines very expensive and didn’t work.Reviewed 14 Sept 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
My agreement was for $405.53, my receipt said $405.53 but my credit card was charged 605.53. This is unacceptable, what is that extra $200? There is no accounting for it in the receipt, I didn't check my credit card charge prior to checking out but instead used my printed receipt to check the charge. The charge hasn't officially cleared yet but I am concerned that this was a bait and switch by Avis.Reviewed 10 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Outside of the car was not cleaned at all. Makes it difficult to check for dents and nicks.Cons:clear the exterior of the carReviewed 25 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Like the Nissan RougeCons:The inside windshield was covered with a residue film as if cleaned seemed to have been cleaned with a lysol wipe or something resulting in dangerous visibility; which became noticeable once out into traffic and nighttime headlights. Desperately trying to clean it with my sleeve, I missed the exit resulting in an unwanted late night tour through Newark. The agent at Newark was pleasant enough, though I had no instructions concerning dropbox drop off resulting in two trips of considerable distance from the rental lot at ABE at 11 PM. I’m sure there’s small print somewhere, but the price went from $81 to ringing up to $250, which the agent explained was $100 holding fee, hopefully refundable for my two hour rentsl.Reviewed 15 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was great !!Cons:first car smelled like smoke and they quickly switched to another (upgrade)Reviewed 8 Sept 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was very friendly and drop off was incredibly easy.Cons:I wish the rate was a little bit more efficient. I felt as though I paid a considerable amount for a one day rental.Reviewed 23 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Left my iPad in the car and called back a couple of hours later to be told “it could not be found”. Dishonest staffReviewed 6 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The pick up and drop off experience was great. I also called Avis to extend my reservation and received the information I needed to make an informed decision.Cons:The car was not as clean as I expected - there was obvious food and debris on the seats. There was also a faint smell of smoke. Given the pandemic I would have expected cleaning procedures would have been increased.Reviewed 5 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:First car offered to me displayed a "service required' notice on the dashboard. Second car was ok.Reviewed 21 May 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Newark?

Address

132 Carson Road 3rd Floor

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 973 961 4300

Good to know

Most popular location

132 Carson Road 3rd Floor

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Newark

  • Book your car hire from Avis in Newark at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Newark are around 48% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Newark

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Newark?

    Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Newark.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Newark?

    Avis has 1 hire location in Newark. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    Yes