Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Vancouver

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 27/6
Thu 4/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Vancouver

Economy$129/day
Compact$130/day
Intermediate$84/day
Standard$100/day
Full-size$86/day
Full-size SUV$146/day
Premium$91/day
Luxury$94/day
Intermediate SUV$92/day
Compact SUV$92/day
Supplier choice saloon$97/day
Standard SUV$108/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Vancouver

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating8.3 Very GoodBased on 59 reviews
Cleanliness
8.7
Comfort
8.6
Overall
8.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
8.3
Value for money
8.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
13
2
0
3
0
0
2
10.0
Brand new car, terrific service, easy. Thanks!Reviewed 24 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The pick up was very easy and the car was spotless. The person that checked in the car when I returned it was really sweet and friendly.Reviewed 2 Dec 2020
review fromkayak
8.8
Cons:Parking area at drop off a bit unsettling... not all elevators operate (M level locked on weekends), having to use specific ones, which I was not aware of prior to drop offReviewed 9 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great service, ease of getting the car, friendly staffReviewed 3 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:At pick up, she was not aware of the insurance I had with an external company which I booked through kayak and kept trying to sell me more insurance which was annoyingReviewed 19 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:Drop-off was great.Cons:I'd been told that the pick-up spot was at the airport but it turned out to be quite a ways away and we had to take a cab to get there. The clerk sent us to the wrong parking spot for the car and we had to find it on our own. There was a disconcerting "thud" noise and jarring when idling.Reviewed 17 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Everything - reservation system was misleading - called to verify reservation and was lied to - staff at the Richmond BC location was terribly and incredibly rude - will never use the Kayak system again to reserve and will NEVER EVER use Avis againReviewed 18 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:The staff was great.Reviewed 12 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:SeaTac drop off was easy.Cons:I chose the Downtown Vancouver pickup location to save time. I waited 1.5 hours in line to get the car. Do not rent from the downtown location if you are under any sort of time constraint!Reviewed 17 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Maybe have proper hours of operation posted online. Showed up at 5:30pm since it said they closed at 6:00pm. Turns out they close at 5pm on every day other than Friday (I believe). Thanks for the $240 cab ride to Whistler Avis!Reviewed 17 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:They did not have the compact car we expected however they compensated us for it. The customer service was excellent.Reviewed 12 May 2019
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Good pickup and drop off experiences. Reasonable and competitive pricing.Cons:Car interior was not adequately cleaned prior to my pickup. Found loose trash and food (apple core, rice, etc.) under passenger seats.Reviewed 17 Oct 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Vancouver?

Address

451 W 8th Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:30
Tuesday08:00 - 16:30
Wednesday08:00 - 16:30
Thursday08:00 - 16:30
Friday08:00 - 16:30
Saturday08:00 - 16:30
Sunday08:00 - 16:30

Phone

+1 604 606 2821

Address

757 Hornby Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:30
Tuesday08:00 - 16:30
Wednesday08:00 - 16:30
Thursday08:00 - 16:30
Friday08:00 - 16:30
Saturday08:00 - 16:30
Sunday08:00 - 16:30

Phone

+1 604 606 2868

Good to know

Most popular location

757 Hornby Street

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

$152/day

Good deal

$129/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Vancouver

  • Avis has eight car rental stations which are spread out across the city of Vancouver. These branches include the Avis rental office at Vancouver Airport as well as the Vancouver South Terminal Airport. The branches which are close to the city centre and dotted around the outskirts are located at Cambie St - The Rise, Georgia & Hornby, West Esplanade Street, Richmond, Burnaby MetroPointe and Newton Surrey.
  • If you’re visiting Vancouver, Avis will offer you great deals for car rentals. When you rent a car with Avis, you will have the freedom to explore the city and its stunning surroundings rather than having to rely on public transport. This is especially convenient if you plan to rent with  Avis from Vancouver Airport. You’ll be able to transport your luggage easier and reach your destination quicker when you have your own run around to get you from A to B.
  • If you plan on staying in the city but still want to book Avis car hire in Vancouver, you should look at Avis’ smaller car categories. Having a smaller car will allow you to find parking in the city with minimal effort, which is great if you want to save time exploring the sites. Similarly, if you need to save time because you are travelling for business, a small car is ideal. The car Avis car types that are the best for in-city travel are either the economy or compact car models.
  • To book Avis car hire in Vancouver, the person who will be driving the vehicle needs to be at least 21 years old and have a valid driver's license. Avis does charge drivers under the age of 25 years more to rent a vehicle to cover the risk of driving inexperience. Although the legal driving age in Canada is 16 years, all drivers who operate the Avis vehicle rental need to be at least 21 years. This applies to any additional drivers added to the rental agreement too.
  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Vancouver for $129 or less.
  • Book your car hire from Avis in Vancouver at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Vancouver are around -3% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Vancouver

  • Which is the best branch to choose as a pick-up location when I book Avis car hire in Vancouver?

    If you are visiting Vancouver on holiday and plan on flying, the best place to pick up your Avis hire car would be from the Avis Vancouver Airport branch. Picking your vehicle up from here is easy as the branch is located inside the terminal building. You will need to provide your flight details to the Avis officer when you book your rental and present your return flight details when you go to collect your car.

  • Will I be able to choose which car I drive when I book Avis car hire in Vancouver?

    When you go through the booking process, either online or in-branch, you will be presented with various car categories. The categories are separated according to the size and the features the cars in the category have. This usually determines how much you will pay for your rental. Although there are specific car models shown online, this is not necessarily the vehicle you will be driving. However, you will drive a vehicle that is similar in size and that has similar desired features.

  • What insurance coverage should I get when I book Avis car hire in Vancouver?

    The coverage you select should depend on where you want to go with your Avis hire car. If you want to venture further out of the city, perhaps on an overnight trip, your should get full coverage as it will lower the excess you are liable for. The rental rates for full coverage tend to be more expensive than basic rates, but you will have complete peace of mind on your road trip. If you plan on staying local, you should still get coverage for minor damage and theft.

  • How much does it cost to hire a car from Avis in Vancouver?

    On average a car hire from Avis in Vancouver costs $152 per day.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Vancouver?

    Intermediate (Toyota RAV4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Vancouver.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Vancouver?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Vancouver. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Vancouver Intl airport (YVR)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Vancouver Intl airport (YVR)?

    Yes