Book Avis hire cars in Vancouver

Vancouver, BC, Canada
28 Sep — 5 Oct
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Tue 28/9
Noon
Tue 5/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Vancouver

Overall rating7.2 GoodBased on 51 reviews
Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
4
0
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Easy rental, great servicePros:The pickup was easy and the rental was greatReviewed 14 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:car was clean and in good condition other than a chipped windshield, were able to accommodate my request for a larger vehicle after realizing my luggage would not fit in an economy car, customer service at the counter was great.Cons:no organization within the shop - no signs for where to line up and it seemed to be a free for all with people walking in the door jumping in front of customers who had been waiting. one woman grabbed the ear of the gentleman who was working with me because "she was in a hurry" and forced him to stop helping me and work with her instead. long wait inside shop to see a rep. was told to inspect the vehicle myself then come back in and report any damage (honestly I understand why the rep couldn't join me since the wait times were long as it was).Reviewed 8 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
8.8
Cons:Parking area at drop off a bit unsettling... not all elevators operate (M level locked on weekends), having to use specific ones, which I was not aware of prior to drop offReviewed 9 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The pick up was very easy and the car was spotless. The person that checked in the car when I returned it was really sweet and friendly.Reviewed 2 Dec 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great service, ease of getting the car, friendly staffReviewed 3 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
some good pros, but some bad cons too.......Pros:good car, efficient serviceCons:we messed up our return schedule (missed the ferry) so we: - returned the car 2h late and to the airport instead in the city -> resulted in 1 day additional rent which we considered as ok - didn't have the time to fill up the gas otherwise we would have missed the plane -> $227 were charged for fuel service which is 3-4 times the value of the fuel. We consider this simply a rip off, twice the amount would have been acceptable. We might choose another company next timeReviewed 23 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Maybe have proper hours of operation posted online. Showed up at 5:30pm since it said they closed at 6:00pm. Turns out they close at 5pm on every day other than Friday (I believe). Thanks for the $240 cab ride to Whistler Avis!Reviewed 17 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Your pricing was way off!! The rate you quote for Avis was like 1/3 the actual rate. Fortunately I found this out before I went to pick up my car. Avis said they would not honor the low rate you quoted unless you agreed to fund the difference. You had off the rental to carrentals.com. There is no phone number to call to get it fixed. I cancelled the rental and will NEVER use your service or Carrentals.com again.Reviewed 16 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Cons:I believe the price for one way rentals is way too high. Also, why charge the same high rate for all days. The cost of rental per day should be the same for return to the same location and a one time drop off fee for a different pick up/drop off. Current practice discourages me from staying more days. Also, I tend to drive my own car if I am interested in one way car rentals. So for me it reduces my car rentals from Avis.Reviewed 9 Jun 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:When we got to the Avis pick-up, they told the line of about 15 people that "We don't have any cars right now," despite everyone having reservations.Reviewed 19 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
3 hour line to pick up carPros:It was a fine carCons:At the downtown Vancouver location, we had to wait in a line for 3 hours to get a car. A cruise ship dumped a load of people off and apparently they all also wanted a car. If we had known, we would have gotten up earlier to get there before the rush. At least we did get car. There were concerns they'd run out but they were getting cars returned and cleaned and giving them back out. After a 3 hour wait, we just said give it to us dirty!Reviewed 31 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very efficient system. Very easy.Reviewed 30 Jul 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Vancouver?

451 W 8th Avenue, Avis car hires

Address

451 W 8th Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:30
Tuesday08:00 - 16:30
Wednesday08:00 - 16:30
Thursday08:00 - 16:30
Friday08:00 - 16:30
Saturday08:00 - 16:30
Sunday08:00 - 16:30

Phone

+1 604 606 2821

Address

757 Hornby Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:30
Tuesday08:00 - 16:30
Wednesday08:00 - 16:30
Thursday08:00 - 16:30
Friday08:00 - 16:30
Saturday08:00 - 16:30
Sunday08:00 - 16:30

Phone

+1 604 606 2868

Good to know

Most popular location

757 Hornby Street

Most popular car type

Mini

Average price

$103/day

Good deal

$99/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Vancouver

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in Vancouver for $99 or less
  • Mini car hires from Avis in Vancouver are around -174% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Vancouver

  • On average a car hire from Avis in Vancouver costs $103 per day.

  • Mini (Dodge Grand Caravan or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Vancouver.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Vancouver. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes