Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in San Juan

Driver's age: 26-65
Mon 29/7
Mon 5/8
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 41%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in San Juan

Economy car
Economy
M
Compact car
Compact
M
Intermediate car
Intermediate
M
Standard car
Standard
M
Full-size car
Full-size
M
Luxury car
Luxury
M
People mover car
People mover
M
Passenger van car
Passenger van
M
Commercial car
Commercial
M
Pick-up truck car
Pick-up truck
M

Reviews for Avis in San Juan

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating5.8 FairBased on 51 reviews
Cleanliness
6.0
Comfort
6.0
Overall
5.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.4
Value for money
5.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
3
0
0
0
0
14
8.0
Easy pick-up but no off-hours dropoffReviewed 19 Apr 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
They didn’t have a car for me. The customer service at the station was awful. The young lady at the desk couldn’t have cared less about the fact they had no car, despite me booking one. The main depot didn’t even answer the phone to her so she could get an update. I eventually walked out after I was an hour late after my booking time, with no car. So disgusted. I am an ex Avis employee so it’s even worse!Reviewed 4 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing. I arrived at 10:00 AM. I waited in the hot garage with mosquitos for 45 minutes. We got our car after 11. The computer system was down so the 2 customers in front of me took about 25 minutes each.Cons:We showed up at 10:00 AM, we should have gotten our car before 11....We could have been allowed to wait in the AC instead of the hot mosquito infested garage... The employee could have moved a little quicker. I would not rent here again. The car gas tank could have been full instead of 5/8's, so many things could have been better.Reviewed 20 May 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was very friendly and courteousCons:OverpricedReviewed 2 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:No mechanical problems, nice carCons:We had a two week rental. On first day of the tental the agency called saying they had no cars leaving us stranded at our Airbnb. He said they might have a car later or maybe it would be 3 days. For hours after that call they would not answer their phone.. Finally they did answer and he had one come in.Reviewed 24 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Our car was given away, we never received the rentalsCons:We had no transportationReviewed 14 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They over booked & canceled without notice...terrible service!!Reviewed 13 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:We reserved an SUV and they had none and could only give us a car.Reviewed 24 Feb 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing, you canceled on me 1 hr before arrivalCons:YesReviewed 4 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:It would have been helpful to have had him review the toll collection process and availability of a speed through sticker on the car.Reviewed 2 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:I never got the car because the light was flat late because I want to clock in on stupidReviewed 7 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Incorrect pricing for the extended renting period.Reviewed 12 Apr 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Juan?

Address

1050 Avenida Ashford

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 787 721 4499

Address

200 Convention Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 787 993 3633

Good to know

Most popular location

1050 Avenida Ashford

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Juan

  • You can enjoy a self-drive from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) if you book Avis car rentals in San Juan. With an on-site desk at the terminal, it’s fast and easy to book this service. The pick-up and drop-offs are situated on Level 1, Garage Parking. You can locate it post luggage claim area, and head to the Avis Rent-A-Car counter at the garage opposite the arrival terminal, where you’ll pick up your car after clearance.
  • Anyone planning to leisurely explore the city should plan and book exotic car rentals from Avis car rentals in San Juan. Avis has two locations where you can get exotic cars in San Juan; Isla Grande Airport (SIG), and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). At these two points, you’re sure of finding a wide range of car classes, such as executive luxury vehicles, large executive luxury SUVs, American muscle cars, and luxury performance vehicles.
  • There are several benefits that come your way if you book Avis car rentals. With Avis car rentals, you have the freedom to bring your pets in most of the cars in their fleet. Remember that other car hire agencies impose restrictions on pets in some of their cars. Still, you’ll have to crate your furry friends in your vehicle, besides returning the vehicle in a clean condition without any trace of fur. This will save you from paying cleaning charges.
  • It’s easy to get cheap parking in San Juan for your Avis car rentals. There are parking spaces on the south side of the city, close to the La Puntilla and Recinto Sur. Those driving north, remember there’s a parking deck under the Ballaja building, just off Norzagaray Street. The space is smaller, and you may have to arrive early. Free street parking is hard to find, especially along the beach.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in San Juan are around 82% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Juan

  • What is the best pickup location for Avis car rentals in San Juan?

    The best place to get your rented car while in San Juan is at the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). You’ll enjoy numerous perks if you pick up your vehicle from this property, among them a free shuttle service that runs from the terminal to the garage at a 10-15min interval. Still, you can book your rental car online and claim it immediately after you land. While at the garage, you’ll find a wide range of cars to choose from, including sedans, SUVs, compact vehicles, pick-ups and exotics.

  • What are the different amenities offered by Avis car rentals in San Juan?

    Book Avis car rentals in San Juan and be sure to enjoy other benefits from the operator. It starts with the freedom to personalize your car for improved performance through add-ons. In case you’re keen to explore the mountainous terrain, fit your car with snow chains and winter tires; Avis provides them for free. Also, the operator gives you a free GPS navigational system which is handy if you choose to drive as a local. You’ll certainly be glad to find child seats in most of the cars in the Avis car rental fleet.

  • What accessible services are available for Avis car rentals in San Juan?

    Avis car rentals in San Juan provide essential services to persons with mobility limitations. As such, you’re sure of getting adaptive driving aids at no cost. Such devices include left foot accelerators, pedal extenders, hand controls, and spinner knobs. In case you’re disabled and don’t have a driver’s license, do not worry as Avis will provide you with a qualified surrogate driver, for free. Lastly, Avis rental cars in San Juan permit its clients to bring service animals that you do not have to crate in the car.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in San Juan?

    Economy (Class Economy Car or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in San Juan.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in San Juan?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in San Juan. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Luis Munoz Marin Intl airport (SJU)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Luis Munoz Marin Intl airport (SJU)?

    Yes