Book Avis hire cars in Norfolk

Norfolk, VA, United States
15 Feb — 22 Feb
Same drop-off
Norfolk, VA, United States
Wed 15/2
Noon
Wed 22/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Norfolk

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Norfolk

Overall rating5.9 FairBased on 43 reviews
Cleanliness
6.4
Comfort
6.6
Overall
5.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.3
Value for money
5.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
13
2
2
7
1
0
11
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
I showed up with my reservation at 11pm and was told that the only car they had was a 12 passenger van. I showed the desk agent my reservation and she essentially said that it didn’t matter if I had a reservation they were out of cars. End of conversation. Would not, will not ever use Avis again. I was left stranded late at night after a long day of travel and had unapologetic terrible customer service on top of it. The nice gentleman at Enterprise told me this was a pretty typical experience. Buyer beware.Reviewed 26 Jan 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
On 12/9 at the Norfolk, VA airport we were rented a car with significant damage on the rear passenger side, beginning with extensive scratching that went through the paint near the rear wheel and had smaller dents on the passenger rear and front doors. The car had clearly been in some accident but was rented to us in that unacceptable condition. Because it was dark when we rented the car and there was no one at the exit, no one saw the damage until we saw the damage the next day. We took photos when we discovered the damage. We called a main number for Avis since we could not get through to a local number at the rental location (Norfolk, VA Airport) and filed a report over the phone with Jennifer on 12/10. We pointed it out to the attendant when we returned the car to the Richmond, VA Airport (it was a one-way rental) and told him about the report we filed with Jennifer. It is irresponsible and unacceptable to rent anyone a damaged car and we will NOT be responsible for one penny of damage. Putting anyone in the position of worrying that they may be held liable is outrageous. SHAME ON AVIS!Reviewed 14 Dec 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience. Only complaint is fragrance used in car was unpleasant . Loved that the car had a pass for toll road.Reviewed 18 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
RAV 4: 54,000 miles.Dirty on pick-up, had to Clean windows in order to use side mirrors.Passenger and rear windows inoperable.Fob intermittent, had to use emergency key to lock doors.Obvious electrical problems including extremely dim headlights.Reviewed 17 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The car was banged up and smelled like smoke when I picked it up and then as I was driving north to DC at night, had to turn back and drive about 20-30 miles to return the car for a new replacement because BOTH back tail lights were out. It would have never known except someone on the highway honked and flashed lights to get my attention to tell my my lights were out... which is very dangerous. When I went to replace the car, they were very kind and made it easy - which was appreciated since I had to backtrack to return the other car. However, the car the replaced it with ended up having some emergency warning signs about the automatic rear breaking system malfunctioning. I had to pull over to read the vehicle manual - but because I was in the middle of no where had to continue on until I got into DC and could return it. Not a good experience at all.Reviewed 10 Oct 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The car was so old, it was also very rickety! Sometimes felt unsafe because the steering was so lose and acceleration so bad. Also, I arrived at my check in time but had to wait 40 minutes for a car! They also seemed to be handing them out in order of arrival not order of reservations. Very disappointed and I will not be using this againReviewed 24 Sep 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Everything was just as expected. No hassles.Reviewed 16 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Nothing, I reserved a car and was told when I picked it up that they weren’t honoring same day reservations and turned me away.Reviewed 25 Jun 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Almost everything was terribleReviewed 18 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
They took to much money off my cardReviewed 12 Feb 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
That they would have told the truth. Tracy, was a professional and made my day. But I found out the charges she told me was supposed to be a temporary hold turns out with me bullshit fees/taxes. I was expecting to pay only 700-800$ instead they charged me nearly a 1000$. The car was detailed and clean. The person who I dropped it off with was professional and apologized for the confusion. I told him there was no confusion. I looked online and thinking I was going to back 700-800$, not nearly 1000$. The messed up part is that I can’t do anything about it. If I had known how much I was going to pay before booking that would have been better. They charged me $80 for a recovery fee, and other bullshit fees. Wtf are they recovering?Reviewed 1 Feb 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
I loved the suv! Pick up was quick and the ride was great!Reviewed 26 Jan 2022
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Norfolk?

2200 Norview Avenue, Avis car hires

Address

2200 Norview Avenue

Hours

Monday06:30 - 23:59
Tuesday06:30 - 23:59
Wednesday06:30 - 23:59
Thursday06:30 - 23:59
Friday06:30 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 757 855 1945

Address

1700 Norview Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 757 857 0106

Good to know

Most popular location

2200 Norview Avenue

Most popular car type

Economy

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Norfolk