Book Avis hire cars in Santa Ana

Santa Ana, CA, United States
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Santa Ana, CA, United States
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Santa Ana

Overall rating6.9 GoodBased on 32 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
0
2
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Had 3 cars in 6 days!Pros:Given the extraordinarily inconvenient week of rentals with Avis, the best people I ran into were the tow truck driver and the woman who graciously accommodated my fees at the end. (However her manager initially only wanted to offer me Avis CREDIT!)Cons:My initial rental ended up not having air conditioning (in CA, in August). Due to traffic circumstances I couldn't return the car to my point of origin and had to drive over four hours until I reached an airport that could accommodate a rental exchange. Second car seemed fine, they upgraded my rental class, and I finished my drive that day with air conditioning. I drove that vehicle another 98 miles, over two days. On the road it seized up, with an indicator on the dash about the coolant temp...the car had over heated. Roadside assistance had to be called, and I was towed back to the airport to receive yet another vehicle. The last vehicle did make the journey back to Southern California, though I had my suspicions about the transmission. I have never had an experience like this with any rental company. I opted to lay a bit more to use Avis as I was hoping the name would bring quality. Having cars that are not inspected properly and thoroughly prior to being put on the road is not only inconvenient, but flat out has the potential to the dangerous. I am so disappointed with the Avis experience. And to be offered as an initial "we're sorry for the inconvenience" a $50 Avis voucher is insulting. Thankfully in the end there was an adjustment offered to me, I just wish that it hadn't cost me precious time with my family in the process.Reviewed 24 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pretty Good... I guess...Pros:Nice clean car (Toyota corolla LE). Rates were reasonable for a one-way rental (pick up in one city, drop off in another city), but they are pricier than competition if you want to pick up and drop off at the same location.Cons:Lack of availability of one-way rentals. They said we had to pick up from the airport (even though there were other locations that were nearer to us). That turned out to be a pain because it was hard to find theexact place to pick up from at the airport (John Wayne in santa ana, California). We googled the directions, and they were bad (NOT Avis fault, I understand), we called them and the lady who answered was very curt with us and gave us contradictory directions, we stopped by the garage OUTSIDE the airport where the cars are normally kept, and they tried to give us directions as well, but they weren't all that clear, either.Reviewed 19 Jun 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible ExperienceCons:First they didn't have a car that could fit 7 as I reserved. Then it took over an hour to find an option. Then they put us in a passenger van in which we had to wait almost two hours for because the driver didn't see us so someone just parked the van. No one called us or anything so I had to go back into the rental office to ask where it was. That took some more time as they couldn't figure it out. Not the most convenient wait with a two year old. Then on the return they told us to park out back. Only to unload and reload our baggage as that person said we needed to go back to the airport in the van and not a shuttle. And to cap it off I was overcharged $200.Reviewed 21 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff was friendly & niceCons:We had reserved a mini van only to be told it was not available an hour before. We then accepted the alternative since we were pressed for time. Everything seemed ok until we loaded all our luggage, kids & grandma buckled up ...within minutes there were trails of ants all over!! Totally disgusting...this has never happened before. I called to complain but was told by the agent that this happens when cars are parked in grassy areas. When I first got in the car , I noticed some crumbs & just brushed it off. Looking back there is absolutely no excuse for this neglect in properly & throughly cleaning a car . This was unacceptable & we then drove to another location to swap the car for the minivan I reserved in the first place 😫 This whole ordeal set us back over an hour & in turn we missed our evening reservation. This caused so much inconvenience. That I will definitely think twice about renting from this company again :(Reviewed 1 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Bait and SwitchPros:I reserved and paid for a premium car. None were available when I arrived at Avis. Yet they had a different premium car available for more $ per day.Reviewed 28 Dec 2015
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:-Avis did not take the insurance provided by Kayak and highly suggested against using or purchasing insurance from Kayak. -I would have like to know that I needed a credit card and not a debit card for renting a sports car. I had a long delay in line because of this issue. -It was not clear to me that I could not pay and book the car online and I had to pay at the car rental office.Reviewed 13 Jun 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The way Inwas treated at drop off. Also the extra charges that they tried to charge - filled up gas tank with receipt across st and they tried to charge me 20 extra then a drop off fee, and extra taxes after drop off. Dont think I will rent from them again. Bad experience dont honor what employees sayReviewed 28 Jan 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Waited Over an Hour for a CarCons:The vehicle I reserved was not available when I arrived (at exactly my scheduled time). I waited an hour while they looked for a car for me and even checked with Budget to see if they had anything. Once I was finally given a badly damaged small SUV, the car seat I requested was the issue. I was given a small infant seat, with no base, for a 3.5 year old! It didn't fit properly- totally unsafe.Reviewed 30 May 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:How fast the rental and return processing was. Price. Avis very easy to work with, better than Enterprise; they are very uptight. Your people are friendly.Reviewed 9 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:the size of car was what I requestedCons:staff was rude. finding car rented not easy. Car was filthy and smelled terrible.Reviewed 31 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Overall Good ExperiencePros:Easy booking; nice car.Reviewed 4 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
We happily were able to return the car in Palm DesPros:The capability of returning the car near our homeCons:NothingReviewed 30 Dec 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Santa Ana?

18601 Airport Way, Avis car hires

Address

18601 Airport Way

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:00
Tuesday06:00 - 23:00
Wednesday06:00 - 23:00
Thursday06:00 - 23:00
Friday06:00 - 23:00
Saturday06:00 - 23:00
Sunday06:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 949 660 5200

Address

4101 South Main Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday08:00 - 15:00
Thursday08:00 - 15:00
Friday08:00 - 15:00
Saturday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 714 957 6521

Address

2701 Hotel Terrace Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday08:00 - 15:00
Thursday08:00 - 15:00
Friday08:00 - 15:00
Saturday08:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 714 708 3485

Good to know

Most popular location

18601 Airport Way

Most popular car type

Luxury

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Santa Ana

  • Luxury (Audi A4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Santa Ana.

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in Santa Ana. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes