Book Avis hire cars in New Haven

New Haven, CT, United States
11 Dec — 18 Dec
Same drop-off
New Haven, CT, United States
Sat 11/12
Noon
Sat 18/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in New Haven

Overall rating6.0 GoodBased on 32 reviews
Cleanliness
6.2
Comfort
6.6
Overall
5.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.7
Value for money
6.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
2
4
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Terrible customer service and no supportPros:The vehicle was nice.Cons:Check in took forever. I was given the wrong car, had to argue and show the receipt from my reservation to finally be given the right vehicle. When I went to return it there was no one there and had to wait for over an hour for them to come back. I was charged an extra day and when I told them about it they said they already put it through and I would have to talk to customer care to get it refunded. So I called customer service who then told me it sounded like a legit charge and didn’t believe me that the check in and check out was that bad, asked to talk to a manager and waited on the phone for 15 mins for the guy to come back on and tell me there wasn’t one available and they would call me back. I still haven’t heard back. Worst customer service of any company I have ever dealt with.Reviewed 25 Jun 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
JohnPros:Despite having a resevervation and phoning ahead, no car was available. The representative behind the desk was both rude and worthless. Thankfully Budget had a kiosk next to the Avis, and we rented through them.Reviewed 27 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Didn't have car I reservedPros:The agent attempted to upgrade the vehicle type because they didn't have any standard size cars to an SUV. He also offered to let me go to another Avis and pick up the correct vehicle typeCons:They didn't have the type of car I reserved and they originally tried to give me an older compact vehicle. I didn't want an SUV because we were traveling a long distance.Reviewed 29 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Smooth transaction. Friendly helpful staff.Cons:Car was not clean when we received it. Windshield had dead bugs on it and interior needed a vacuum and wipe down from some drink spills.Reviewed 24 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Best car rental experience everPros:I chose Avis after I missed getting to New Haven in time to pick up my car from Hertz. Hertz told me I would have to pay $170 more if I picked up the car the next day, plus I would have had to Uber around until then. Avis had a car for almost the same price I had originally been paying with Hertz, their office was right in the train station, and they were open 2 hours later than Hertz! Reserved and picked up the car within minutes. It was a Toyota Corolla and worked great! Everything from checkin to checkout was smooth sailing. I’m going with Avis from now on whenever possible.Reviewed 8 Oct 2018
review fromkayak
6.8
12 passenger vanPros:Unlimited mileageCons:Rear seats not very comfortable for a long tripReviewed 23 Jan 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Excellent economical and good serviceReviewed 29 Mar 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The New Haven staff member was not helpful. He did not explain to me additional charges that were added to my bill before he charged me and then was not helpful in helping me sort out a better course of action.Cons:The company could be more transparent about their fee structures online vs in the store. The company could make their workers feel more valued.Reviewed 6 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
The place is no longer there!Cons:The rental doesn't exist any more.. There is a construction site instead...Reviewed 17 Sep 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I was only one hour late to return it because of the traffic jam. They charge me another day's fee!!!Reviewed 20 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pick up took to long. Didn't have my car. Car they gave me was filthy.Cons:Have the car i reserved. Have more locations for one way travel. Don't rent filthy old cars.Reviewed 24 May 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Pick up and drop off was easy. Staff was courteous and helpful.Cons:My overall experience was goodReviewed 28 Jun 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in New Haven?

155 Burr Street, Avis car hires

Address

155 Burr Street

Hours

Monday13:00 - 17:0020:00 - 22:00
Tuesday13:00 - 17:0020:00 - 22:00
Wednesday13:00 - 17:0020:00 - 22:00
Thursday13:00 - 17:0020:00 - 22:00
Friday13:00 - 17:0020:00 - 22:00
Saturday13:00 - 17:00
Sunday13:00 - 17:0020:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 203 466 2847

Address

50 Union Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:00
Friday08:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 203 624 2161

Address

170 Olive Street

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 203 772 6626

Good to know

Most popular location

155 Burr Street

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in New Haven

  • Economy car hires from Avis in New Haven are around 19% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in New Haven