Book Avis hire cars in Grand Rapids

Grand Rapids, MI, United States
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Grand Rapids, MI, United States
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Grand Rapids

Overall rating6.2 GoodBased on 23 reviews
Cleanliness
6.5
Comfort
6.4
Overall
6.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
6.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
1
3
2
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:I arrived before the rental center opened to pick up my vehicle, which was reserved several days ahead of time. I was to pick up at the 9 am opening. I was told by the counter person my vehicle was not there yet, and I would need to wait. She was very nice, to be clear. Then, after waiting for 20 minutes, I was told by the same woman that my car (a special 12-passenger van needed that day for a family trip) could not be found, and no one at any Avis ops center could help, and/or did not return her calls or texts. I continued to wait while she made calls as line volume permitted. She finally learned that the previous renter had not returned the vehicle and I would have to wait until at least 11. I asked for a substitution and got little help, so I walked down the street to Enterprise and they had the vehicle I was looking for, with a price match. After a 90 minute wait that meant missing other pickup appointments and delaying my family’s trip for nearly two hours, I was on my way - with a van from a competitor. Thanks for nothing, Avis. I will be going down the street to Enterprise from now on.Cons:Pretty much everything.Reviewed 7 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy drop-off at 3amPros:I just parked the car, noted the mileage and fuel, and dropped the keys in the slot. What could be easier?Reviewed 2 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:A complete joke, I was unable to get my vehicle because I was LIED TO over the phone. I verified over the phone that I would be able to pick up the bricks despite being under 25, where I was reassured I could still get it due to waived rules because of covid. Because of this I did not get my vehicle and was late for the next bout of traveling for my vacation. Absolutely no remorse from employees at store as well. Will NEVER recommend.Cons:Don’t LIE OVER THE PHONE TO DRAW CUSTOMERS IN.Reviewed 25 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The staff was friendly, efficient, and did not try to pressure me to purchase services I did not want or need. His instructions for finding the car wete good.Cons:Bevause of Covid19 thete were few customers and many cars in the return area. The signage told me to park in an area already filled, the signs should have been moved. However the one employee in the return area was very busy with many things to accomplish. I got it figured out fine.Reviewed 31 Mar 2020
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Advertised as smoke-free cars. Car smelled profusely of cigarette smoke. When asked to change for a different vehicle, customer rep apologized, but said nothing else was available. Reserved a midsize auto and was given an SUV which doubled my gas expense. Vehicle was in need of an oil change and ran out of windshield wiper fluid (alerts went off within a day of picking up my week ling rental.) Company did offer a small discount and were apologetic upon return of vehicle when I spoke to the manger.Reviewed 16 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Car was clean, drop off was normalCons:I got upsold into a GMC Terrain by the guy at the desk... and it’s got a ridiculous gear shift. I should have stuck with what I ordered.Reviewed 27 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:SUV + heated up in 3 minutes:)Cons:No N E W S directions on carReviewed 18 Jan 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly helpful staff, great carCons:No complaintsReviewed 1 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Ease of access to northern michiganPros:Price is fine and airport to airport with no drop off fee great. Agents really pleasant especially the young man in GRRCons:Not that dirty but still hadn't been cleaned with dirt from last person's luggage in back. Also last customer only filled the gas until it appeared full but wasn't really full.Reviewed 6 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Mis-toldCons:I was told that I had to purchase the fuel coverage, which was news to me. I've always declined the fuel, bc I fill it up myself all the time. After telling the Agent in Grand Rapids many times I didn't want it, he said I had no choice and when I filled it up to bring my receipt up in returning the CAR, which didn't make sense. When I returned the car in Battle Creek, I told the Agent and she was dumbfounded and said they should have done that in the first place. This was a terrible experience.Reviewed 4 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:I reserved a premium vehicle and when I got to the counter they were out of premium vehicle and gave me a vehicle that was below standards So to be better had the vehicle reserved for the customersReviewed 5 Feb 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:I didn’t like anything about Avis they over charged me acting like they didn’t want to give me money back then got mad and hung up the phone on meCons:EverythingReviewed 31 Dec 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Grand Rapids?

5500 44th Street Se Unit 9, Avis car hires

Address

5500 44th Street Se Unit 9

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 616 233 6330

Address

2640 Alpine Avenue Northwest

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 616 447 7739

Address

2740 28th Street Se

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 616 940 4593

Good to know

Most popular location

5500 44th Street Se Unit 9

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Grand Rapids

  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Grand Rapids are around 21% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Grand Rapids

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Grand Rapids.

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in Grand Rapids. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes