Book Avis hire cars in Des Moines

Des Moines, IA, United States
9 Feb — 16 Feb
Same drop-off
Des Moines, IA, United States
Thu 9/2
Noon
Thu 16/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Des Moines

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Des Moines

Overall rating6.0 OkayBased on 9 reviews
Cleanliness
5.5
Comfort
6.4
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.9
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
3
0
0
1
0
4
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
The pick up and drop off was simple. The car looked like it had been rear ended at some point. The windows were pretty dirty, However the interior was clean. I got a larger car than I reserved so I was happy overall.Reviewed 27 Sep 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The customer service was not good. Was given a hard time and was not helpful. Wasn’t able to pick up car and had to rent a car with another company.Reviewed 15 Mar 2022
review fromkayak
1.9
They did not rent us a car. We booked three months in advance. The lady at the desk was extremely rude and unhelpful. All of our plans depended on having a one way rental. They did not honor it. It ruined our trip. I am writing to their corporate office and the BBB. I’m furious.Reviewed 20 Aug 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
The car got great mileage and had no mechanical problems. There was a dog smell in the back but bought some enzyme odor remover and treated it several times to eliminate the smell. Thank you for making the drive a great one.Reviewed 5 Aug 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The woman at the counter was very sweet, especially when I was extremely irritated. I feel bad that she has to deal with the ridiculous “policies”. She really was kind, thank you!Cons:Couldn’t pick up my rental because my license has my middle name and my card doesn’t. Clerk wouldn’t accept payment that didn’t EXACTLY match the card, and of course debit cards are not an option. I don’t care how much the “hold” is especially when I have thousands in checking Thanks Avis for leaving me strandedReviewed 5 Jul 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The service was good. I really liked the car, clean and nearly new. Good experience and better rates than other rental companies.Cons:Tried to call the rental location several times and never got someone to answer. Customer service these days is the way to stay ahead of the rest.Reviewed 26 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Very friendly staff and made the experience interesting.Cons:System issues meant a longer wait timeReviewed 26 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
WonderfulPros:Great price, nice big car, great customer serviceCons:NY plates which made me stand out when I was driving. Prefer to have local plates next time.Reviewed 2 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Customer service was excellent!Pros:I received a new vehicle and the service provided was excellent. My flight was delayed and I arrived to the airport four hours later than pickup selected time, but had no problem.Reviewed 25 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Bad customer serviceCons:Our pickup lady decided to add $45 to our rental fee by adding on some optional insurance that she did not ask if we would like to add. She never asked up if we would like to add those options. She failed to get any initials from us on the lines that asked for my initials when agreeing to add those insurance optionsReviewed 28 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The pick up and drop off was easy and fast.Reviewed 11 Nov 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
totally unsatisfiedCons:mechanical issues...3rd rental in a row.... customer srvc also denied backdating my wizard points to my preferred membership and was rude on the phone and hung up on my face!!!Reviewed 29 Oct 2015
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Des Moines?

5800 Fleur Drive, Avis car hires

Address

5800 Fleur Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:30
Tuesday08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday08:00 - 23:30
Thursday08:00 - 23:30
Friday08:00 - 23:30
Saturday08:00 - 23:30
Sunday08:00 - 23:30

Phone

+1 515 256 5623

Good to know

Most popular location

5800 Fleur Drive

Most popular car type

Compact

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Des Moines