Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Bakersfield

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 18/7
Thu 25/7
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 41%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Bakersfield

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Bakersfield

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating6.7 OkayBased on 19 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
7.0
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
7.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
2
2
0
0
0
0
3
2.0
I have booked car for tree day before pick up time don’t have vehicle even no exchange vehicle very bad service recommend nobody hire this company carReviewed 8 May 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:He offered me a free gas if I agreed to drive a different vehicle class from what i reserved to LAX. Thought it was a great deal.Cons:Turns out, he never entered that information into the system or the paperwork. I got charged $35 at LAX for gas in spite of what was promised. At the lAX Avis counter, they told me I had to deal with the Bakersfield AVIS person to get it cleared up. I called, and the Bakersfield AVIS location doesn't pick up, and the call goes to AVIS national reservation. After holding for 10 minutes, reservation says I have to talk to Customer Service. After waiting another 10 minutes, customer service says I have to contact that same Bakersfield location to have them verify what i said. When I said that the number keeps redirecting me to AVIS national, the customer service agent hung up on me.Reviewed 1 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great car the rental price. No problemsCons:Nothing - super easy and simple process and carReviewed 18 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very great customer service!!Reviewed 6 May 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:great price, friendly staff. the price was very affordable for a one way rental from Bakersfield to LAX. Car was clean and fresh on the inside.Cons:limited amount of cars. they were out of cars when we showed up 2 hours before our scheduled pick up time. Had to come back during our scheduled pick up time and the car was ready. Not their fault but would have been nice if there were a few extra cars to accommodat changing schedules of customers.Reviewed 25 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:I am online booking car honda cruze but pickup car kiaReviewed 23 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Ease of pickup and then drop off in LAX.Cons:Nothing that I can think of.Reviewed 12 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off convenienceCons:Cleanliness of car. I ordered an intermediate and got a compact.Reviewed 24 Feb 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:ServiceReviewed 18 Dec 2018
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:Vehicle performed as expected and was fueled and ready at pick up timeReviewed 9 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
6.4
Chevy Malibu.Pros:car was good, with power, drove wellCons:The headlights were horrible, not bright at all, especially at dusk and in the rain...even with the brights on... not happy with filling up the gas tank a minute before dropping off the car in Chico and only filled to 7/8 of a tank. I then had to go a mile roundtrip to put in a half gallon for the fuel meter to read full. Total waste of time.Reviewed 22 Mar 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:Pick up was uncoordinated. I waited over an hour to receive my vehicle which was in the parking lotReviewed 29 May 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Bakersfield?

Address

4208 Wible Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 661 397 2860

Address

3701 Wings Way

Hours

Monday07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday07:00 - 22:00
Thursday07:00 - 22:00
Friday07:00 - 22:00
Saturday07:00 - 22:00
Sunday07:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 661 392 4160

Good to know

Most popular location

3701 Wings Way

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Bakersfield

  • Before you visit Bakersfield for the first time, you might not realize how large it is. While it isn’t considered to be one of the major cities in California, it’s more than 150 square miles. This is going to make it tough for people to get around when they don’t book Avis car rentals in Bakersfield. If you’re planning to spend time in Bakersfield soon for either business or pleasure, it would be well worth reserving a rental car for the occasion. It’ll enable you to get around with ease without having to rely on taxis and/or public transportation.
  • Generally speaking, the weather in Bakersfield is fantastic. It’s going to be sunny more often than not in the city, and unless you visit in December, January, or February, you shouldn’t have to worry about dealing with any cold weather. Even then, it doesn’t ever get that cold in Bakersfield and the surrounding areas. You should take advantage of this by thinking about renting a luxury car or even a convertible, if possible. You can soak up so much sun while you’re in town when you have the right Avis rental car.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Bakersfield, do yourself a favor and don’t put a credit card on file for it right away. Why? Well, if you decide you don’t need a rental car at any point prior to your trip, you’ll be able to cancel it without having to face a cancellation fee. You might also be able to get a full refund even if you’ve paid for a rental car in advance with a credit card. But to make things less complicated, it would make sense to wait until you pick up an Avis rental car to actually pay for it just in case you decide that you don’t want it. Avis makes it simple for you to do this.
  • With Bakersfield being as big as it is, you’re likely going to get lost if you’re new to town and trying to find your way around in a rental car. For this reason, it might be worth renting a GPS system to go along with your Avis rental car. Avis can provide special add-ons, like GPS systems, car seats, and even additional insurance coverage, to those who believe they could benefit from these kinds of things.
  • Mini car hire from Avis in Bakersfield are around -24% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Bakersfield

  • Where will I need to go to pick up an Avis rental car in Bakersfield?

    There are two locations that you can visit to pick up rental cars when you book Avis car rentals in Bakersfield. The first location is at 3701 Wings Way, which is situated inside the Meadows Field Airport (BFL). The other location is at 4208 Wible Road, which is right off Route 99 in Bakersfield. Both locations are conveniently located and should be able to get you in and out fast when you’re picking up an Avis rental car.

  • What are the top advantages of renting a car from Avis in Bakersfield?

    Renting a car from Avis when you’re visiting Bakersfield is a great idea for several reasons. First and foremost, it’ll make it possible for you to request the type of rental car you would like to drive when you’re in town. It’ll also give you an opportunity to sign up for the Avis Preferred program. As a member of this program, you’ll enjoy discounted rental cars, speedy pickup and dropoff services, and other perks available only to members.

  • Will I have a tough time finding parking spots for a rental car from Avis in Bakersfield?

    Tracking down places to park in Bakersfield shouldn’t be too difficult to do when you’re visiting. There are hundreds of on-street parking spots in the downtown area, including many that will be free to park in. There are also parking garages in Bakersfield, like the 18th & Eye Parking Garage, that provide hundreds of additional spots. It should make parking an Avis rental car in Bakersfield a breeze.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Bakersfield?

    Mini (Chrysler Pacifica or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Bakersfield.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Bakersfield?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Bakersfield. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Meadows Field airport (BFL)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Meadows Field airport (BFL)?

    Yes