Book Avis hire cars in Toronto

Toronto, ON, Canada
30 Sep — 7 Oct
Toronto, ON, Canada
Thu 30/9
Noon
Thu 7/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Toronto

Overall rating6.7 GoodBased on 42 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.5
Overall
6.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
6.3

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
4
2
3
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
7.6
Cons:Given the car model, it was overpriced.Reviewed 27 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:The car itself was wonderful, and I was very happy to have found a car that could be picked up in Canada and dropped off in NYC.Cons:Renting a car for two days shouldn't cost $255 under any circumstance in my book. Also, I went to the wrong Avis near Pearson Airport to pick up on accident. They said I had to go to the one that was a 10-minute drive away to get my reservation. I asked for help in getting there since I didn't have a car yet. They said to try to take the airport shuttle bus nearby. But the airport shuttle wasn't coming for 45 minutes. I had to take a cab, and airport cab rules require a $20 minimum payment. So I had to pay $20 to get driven 10 minutes to pick up the rental car (and this was after I'd taken another cab to the airport from our place in Toronto because the airport location was the only Avis that had a car that could be dropped off in the US.) Basically, it would've been nice if someone from Avis could've driven me over, or picked me up from my house, especially since it was an expensive rental.Reviewed 4 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Aggressive StaffPros:Pickup was great, the car was perfect and everything went smoothly. Usually I haven't had any issues with Avis, the problem lies with this individual location.Cons:Dropoff was a nightmare - coming up Spadina at 4:45pm in Sunday traffic can be challenging so we called the store to let them know we may be 2 minutes late to which we received an aggressive response essentially saying "I don't care, if you are not back by 5pm, you'll be charged another day - not my problem." When we got into the parking garage at 4:57pm there were 3 or 4 others in the exact same situation. Chaos. The attendant in the garage was also unhelpful and wouldn't respond to me asking if this counts as an on-time drop-off. I rushed up to where the office is located (along with a woman who was looking to pick-up, and a family that were as confused as I was) and at 5pm on the button we got to the door and it was locked. Absolutely awful customer service - I won't be going back.Reviewed 13 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:On May 2nd, I filled up the car at 8: 52 am at 537 Keele St west as the car needed to be filled up and I am required to show a receipt that I filled up the car as per the contract agreement. Please see attachment 3 for the receipt and proof of the time of filling up the car. At 9:00 am I returned the car. The same sign was on the door that said that the attendant was away for 15 minutes but unfortunately, I could not wait as I had an urgent appointment and I really need to leave on time. Since there was no one there, I had no choice but to leave the car. There are cameras all over the premise of this AVIS location that can verify I was there on time. I attempted to call the office to let them know I left the car, because I had an urgent very urgent appointment to get to.  I finally received a call from AVIS at 9: 13 am, the same salesperson from this AVIS location called me and said that I left the car overnight and that it was damaged. This tells me that he was not there until that specific time or else he would have seen that I just returned the car and I have the receipt of when I filled up the car to prove it. I headed back to the location AVIS 3193 Dundas St W) at 9:19 am to try to figure out what had happened. The attendee insisted I was not there at 9 am. He then proceeded to demand I pay for the scratch on the car. The attendee continued to intimidate me and said that he would call the police, he also said that if I did not sign the documents that he would write down I refused to pay which would cause me even more money. I insisted that he provide me this paper work (which I have) and allow me time to review the paper work before signing anything. It was very hard for me to even ask for time to review the paper work, as he was extremely upset and I was in tears but I knew I had to review anything before signing it, given that he clearly already lied to me as I was clearly there at 9 am having just filled up the car. I have also attached a video of the car showing the front scratch and its significant damage that he said was ok before I even rented the car and also showing the back scratch that he says I caused although it was not there at 9 am when I returned the car.Reviewed 3 May 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The individuals at the desk were very friendly. They helped me locate the underground parking without prompting. The attendant with the car was also extremely helpful and diligent. While renting downtown a fair bit, it was my first time using this location, and will say it was very smooth and simple.Reviewed 6 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:car ran wellCons:car was not clean and had marks on it and paint on the window. Staff didn't care. Taxi wouldn't drive us into the remote lot to pick up car.Reviewed 28 Jun 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Pick up TorontoPros:Car selectionCons:Tire had a nail, leak and took additional 30 minutes to fix. No pickup service from airport, additional $20 taxi cost Office opens @9a on sunday which is not consumer friendlyReviewed 27 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:Pickup/Dropoff was horrible. Cannot drop off during non business hours which is extremely inconvenient.Reviewed 9 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Drop-off took ages. I understand it was some issue with the ticketing machine.Reviewed 13 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Wrong rental car locationPros:We were informed of the wrong rental car location at our pick-up destination in Toronto. The office no longer exists. We called the number provided on our reservation, and were given the new correct address. When we arrived at the location, we were told that the intermediate size car that we reserved was at a different location (athough no email update was ever sent to us to inform us about the location change). The person working at the counter told us that we could either go to the other rental location (on the other side of the city) or accept a smaller car with a discount. We accepted the smaller car, but no discount was provided. The employees working at the counter in Toronto were also very rude to us during the who experience.Reviewed 24 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Nice people, upgraded, wanted to know about the wireless in the car though.Cons:No shuttle to the location.Reviewed 27 Jun 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:Drop off at YHM was difficult and there was no signage or information or even a person to direct.Reviewed 16 Nov 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Toronto?

4240 Sheppard Avenue East, Avis car hires

Address

4240 Sheppard Avenue East

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 754 2847

Address

5481 Dundas Street West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 233 2847

Address

3320 Dufferin Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 416 256 9060

Address

80 Bloor Street East

Hours

Monday08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday08:30 - 17:00
Thursday08:30 - 17:00
Friday08:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 964 2051

Address

1345 Lawrence Avenue East

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 441 1818

Address

62 Sheppard Ave West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 225 2847

Address

3193 Dundas Street West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 763 2847

Address

161 Bay Street Unit 140 Bce

Hours

Monday08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday08:30 - 17:00
Thursday08:30 - 17:00
Friday08:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 777 2847

Address

1910 Yonge Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 932 2847

Address

333 College Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 647 255 2847

Address

3131 Danforth Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 690 5077

Address

1537 Avenue Road

Phone

+1 416 256 2689

Address

626 Dixon Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 16:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 647 777 2847

Address

1277 Caledonia Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 416 987 0718

Address

1474 Victoria Park Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 647 484 1400

Address

2746 Yonge St

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 416 487 1511

Address

161a Bay Street

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:00
Friday09:00 - 14:00
Saturday08:30 - 17:00
Sunday09:30 - 13:30

Phone

+1 416 777 1618

Address

2190 Yonge Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 416 487 3471

Good to know

Most popular location

5481 Dundas Street West

Most popular car type

Intermediate

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Toronto

  • Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Toronto.

  • Avis has 18 car hire locations in Toronto. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes