Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Toronto

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 28/5
Tue 4/6
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 41%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Toronto

Economy$98/day
Compact$98/day
Intermediate$103/day
Standard$112/day
Full-size$112/day
Full-size SUV$246/day
Premium$127/day
Luxury$132/day
Compact SUV$128/day
Intermediate SUV$133/day
Supplier choice saloon$153/day
Standard SUV$157/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Toronto

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.3 GoodBased on 56 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.9
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.0
Value for money
7.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
5
0
1
0
0
8
2.0
The experience was awful, the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. The staff was wearing pyjamas and a hoody with the hood on. No “please” and “thank you”.Reviewed 29 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible! They didn’t accept the booking and so wouldn’t let me rent because I didn’t have a Canadian credit card. Indeed, im not Canadian so why would I have one? Do they not rent to tourists? Non-sense…Reviewed 5 Oct 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:On May 2nd, I filled up the car at 8: 52 am at 537 Keele St west as the car needed to be filled up and I am required to show a receipt that I filled up the car as per the contract agreement. Please see attachment 3 for the receipt and proof of the time of filling up the car. At 9:00 am I returned the car. The same sign was on the door that said that the attendant was away for 15 minutes but unfortunately, I could not wait as I had an urgent appointment and I really need to leave on time. Since there was no one there, I had no choice but to leave the car. There are cameras all over the premise of this AVIS location that can verify I was there on time. I attempted to call the office to let them know I left the car, because I had an urgent very urgent appointment to get to.  I finally received a call from AVIS at 9: 13 am, the same salesperson from this AVIS location called me and said that I left the car overnight and that it was damaged. This tells me that he was not there until that specific time or else he would have seen that I just returned the car and I have the receipt of when I filled up the car to prove it. I headed back to the location AVIS 3193 Dundas St W) at 9:19 am to try to figure out what had happened. The attendee insisted I was not there at 9 am. He then proceeded to demand I pay for the scratch on the car. The attendee continued to intimidate me and said that he would call the police, he also said that if I did not sign the documents that he would write down I refused to pay which would cause me even more money. I insisted that he provide me this paper work (which I have) and allow me time to review the paper work before signing anything. It was very hard for me to even ask for time to review the paper work, as he was extremely upset and I was in tears but I knew I had to review anything before signing it, given that he clearly already lied to me as I was clearly there at 9 am having just filled up the car. I have also attached a video of the car showing the front scratch and its significant damage that he said was ok before I even rented the car and also showing the back scratch that he says I caused although it was not there at 9 am when I returned the car.Reviewed 3 May 2021
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:Given the car model, it was overpriced.Reviewed 27 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:Drop off at YHM was difficult and there was no signage or information or even a person to direct.Reviewed 16 Nov 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff was nice.Cons:The pick up was very difficult. The office was very hard to find. The Shuttle bus never picked us up. We had to take a $15 taxi from the airport. We could have had much better instructions from kayak.Reviewed 15 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:They allowed me to drop off at another location in the city free of charge. This was a real bonus and super convenient.Reviewed 16 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Pick up awful counter staff very unfriendlyCons:Unless you are in the neighborhood go elsewhereReviewed 5 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Drop-off took ages. I understand it was some issue with the ticketing machine.Reviewed 13 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy to pick up the car... few questions and less than 5 min I was going to the parking lot to the car. Lots of cars to chose from. Got an upgrade for 5 dollars moreReviewed 17 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:I've dealt with the guy working the counter in the past. It's always quick and friendly.Cons:I ordered an intermediate car and ended up with an SUV which caused fuel costs to be higher than anticipated. I had to sign a form indicating I wouldn't smoke in the vehicle, but someone had obviously smoked in it previously and it stank.Reviewed 6 May 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The gentleman I dealt with was so kind and friendly. He also had the car running, seat heaters and steering wheel heaters on when I went out, so it was really enjoyable getting into and yaing the rental.Cons:Nothing. It was an enjoyable experience.Reviewed 11 Apr 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Toronto?

Address

4240 Sheppard Avenue East

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 754 2847

Address

5481 Dundas Street West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 233 2847

Address

3320 Dufferin Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 416 256 9060

Address

80 Bloor Street East

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 964 2051

Address

1345 Lawrence Avenue East

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 441 1818

Address

62 Sheppard Ave West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 225 2847

Address

3193 Dundas Street West

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 763 2847

Address

161 Bay Street Unit 140 Bce

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 777 2847

Address

1910 Yonge Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 932 2847

Address

333 College Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 647 255 2847

Address

3131 Danforth Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 416 690 5077

Address

171 Carlingview Dr

Hours

Monday07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday07:00 - 15:00
Thursday07:00 - 15:00
Friday07:00 - 15:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 416 213 9141

Address

1537 Avenue Road

Phone

+1 416 256 2689

Address

19 Belfield Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 647 777 2847

Address

1277 Caledonia Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 416 987 0718

Address

1474 Victoria Park Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 647 484 1400

Address

2746 Yonge St

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 15:00

Phone

+1 416 487 1511

Address

161a Bay Street

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:00
Friday09:00 - 14:00
Saturday09:00 - 14:00
Sunday09:30 - 16:00

Phone

+1 416 777 1618

Address

2190 Yonge Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 416 487 3471

Good to know

Most popular location

161a Bay Street

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

$127/day

Good deal

$99/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Toronto

  • A prime example of why so many people choose to book Avis car rentals in Toronto is that doing so gives them the opportunity to choose from a vast selection of different car types. Travellers looking to save some money on their rentals can choose economy models that save on rental and fuel costs, while larger groups can choose from full-sized models, SUVs, and minivans that offer great flexibility and safety.
  • Frequently, travellers who book Avis car rentals in Toronto will need to visit some of the many suburban towns that surround the city. For those who want to visit places like Markham, Richmond Hill, Vaughn, Mississauga, Brampton, or Hamilton, travelling on Highways 401, 407, and 403 offers easy, convenient means for moving between suburbs and the city of Toronto quite easily.
  • It should come as no surprise to those who book Avis car rentals in Toronto that driving during the winter in the city and the surrounding areas can get somewhat challenging because of ice and snow on roads. While road crews in Ontario do a nice job of keeping roads clear, driving conditions can still be somewhat tough. That’s why it’s always a great idea, when driving in Toronto, to choose something like an SUV that offers four-wheel-drive.
  • Since the city of Toronto offers two large international airports, people often will fly to Toronto to begin a great trip through Ontario. When travellers add in the luxury and convenience of doing a one-way rental from Toronto using Avis, they give themselves the opportunity to go on a fantastic road trip without having to worry about bringing their car back to their original rental location, such as the airport. Drivers should be aware that there can be additional fees for doing this type of rental.
  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Toronto for $99 or less.
  • Book your car hire from Avis in Toronto at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Intermediate car hire from Avis in Toronto are around 21% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Toronto

  • What are the best pickup locations for an Avis car rental in Toronto?

    One of the nice features of using Avis in Toronto is its number of convenient locations in the area. If you’re flying into one of the two airports in the city, Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ) or Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport (YTZ), Avis has locations there that make it simple to start your trip to Toronto. If you’re already in downtown Toronto and decide you want to rent a car, the locations on College Street and Yonge Street are often far more convenient than making your way back to a large airport to pick up a rental car.

  • What are some of the benefits of using Avis in Toronto?

    Because Avis offers so many locations throughout the Toronto metropolitan area, it’s easy to get in touch with its friendly staff and find a location close by in case of any problems during the time of your rental. Another reason that people choose Avis is because of its loyalty reward program, Avis Preferred, which offers drivers points on every rental to apply toward discounts on future rentals, plus perks like expedited service, which allows you to walk straight to your car and skip lines at a customer service counter.

  • How old will I need to be to rent a car with Avis in Toronto?

    To have access to the largest number of vehicles and the lowest prices possible, drivers need to be at least 25 years old when renting vehicles from Avis in Toronto. It is possible for renters between the ages of 21 and 24 to rent cars, but there may be limits on the types of cars they can rent, such as a prohibition on renting luxury cars or minivans. These younger drivers also may be subjected to a surcharge for their rental.

  • How much does it cost to hire a car from Avis in Toronto?

    On average a car hire from Avis in Toronto costs $127 per day.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Toronto?

    Intermediate (Toyota RAV4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Toronto.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Toronto?

    Avis has 19 hire locations in Toronto. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Pearson Intl airport (YYZ)?

    No (according to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Pearson Intl airport (YYZ)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Toronto Island airport (YTZ)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Toronto Island airport (YTZ)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Hamilton airport (YHM)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Hamilton airport (YHM)?

    Yes