Book Avis hire cars in Roanoke

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 18/4
Thu 25/4
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 43%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Roanoke

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Roanoke

Overall rating7.3 GoodBased on 22 reviews
Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.9
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.6
Value for money
7.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
1
0
0
0
0
3
2.0
Pros:I didn’t like anything about the whole situationCons:There attitude and how they talk to customersReviewed 26 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:The staff was very helpful and kind.Cons:The car was NOT clean...at all. There was trash under the drivers seat and it appears that someone spilt a milkshake on the shift stick/center console. I have a hard time believing that if the car was this dirty, that it could have been “sanitized!!” If I had not traveled almost an hour to visit my son, I would have returned the car to exchange.Reviewed 12 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:The staff in both Roanoke and Arlington were very good. THey were a lot better then the folks I dealt with in Montrose CO this morning, also through AvisReviewed 17 Dec 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Staff was friendly and helpful. Only issue was the address I was given to drop off the vehicle in Tucker, Ga, was not the location. My GPS took be to a totally different building. Needed to make a call to find where I was to go. Return desk acknowledged it has been an issue.Cons:Only car I have rented over the last couple of years that did not have active XSM radio or navigation.Reviewed 27 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Great car, friendly servicePros:Agency staff friendly and helpful.Reviewed 31 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Car was clean and full of gas. Staff was very friendly,Cons:Would love to have a rental car with navigation features, especially since most people renting are traveling in an unfamiliar place.Reviewed 21 May 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
So SmoothPros:Customer service was excellent.Reviewed 10 May 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Easy pickupCons:Cat was a little tired and bare bones. Stained seatsReviewed 8 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Avis the Place that you think as good as Enterprise, but NOPE!Pros:Ease of coming and going.Cons:Class of Car, Cleanliness of Car, comfort of the car, and NO other options on the lot for a normal rate! I will skip Avis next time because of their customer service!Reviewed 30 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Best experiencePros:Newest car and was ready when I arrived. Friendly and helpful staff.Reviewed 23 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
OverchargedPros:Comfortable carCons:I got charged double bc I didn't have my insurance card. I've never had to do that before. The agent was rude and condescendingReviewed 20 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Once more, Avis rents smelly, dirty cars from Roanoke, VAPros:The price was good for a dropped vehicle.Cons:Once again, Avis doesn't really clean the cars much in Roanoke; it wasn't as large a car as I had rented (I rented a full size and received a Nissan Sentra) and the car was so beat up on the outside that I was concerned that I might be charged for it. Fortunately, the Avis at Dulles Airport has the same sort of attitude of mediocrity in service, so they don't seem to care that they are renting dirty, worn out cars.Reviewed 5 Jul 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Roanoke?

Address

5202 Aviation Drive Northwest

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:30
Tuesday07:00 - 23:30
Wednesday07:00 - 23:30
Thursday07:00 - 23:30
Friday07:00 - 23:30
Saturday08:00 - 21:00
Sunday08:00 - 21:00

Phone

+1 540 366 2436

Address

1306 Municipal Road Nw

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:30
Tuesday09:00 - 17:30
Wednesday09:00 - 17:30
Thursday09:00 - 17:30
Friday09:00 - 17:30
Saturday08:30 - 12:00
Sunday08:30 - 12:00

Phone

+1 540 366 2437

Good to know

Most popular location

5202 Aviation Drive Northwest

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Roanoke

  • When exploring the captivating landscapes and vibrant cities of Roanoke, Virginia, Avis Car Rental emerges as the premier choice for your transportation needs. Avis boasts a diverse fleet of well-maintained vehicles, ranging from economical compacts to spacious SUVs, ensuring the perfect fit for your travel plans, whether it’s a solo adventure or a family escapade. Their dedicated staff in Roanoke embodies the spirit of Southern hospitality. Their friendly demeanor, in-depth knowledge of the area, and unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction will make your rental experience a delight.
  • Navigating the diverse landscapes of Roanoke, Virginia, demands a car that suits your adventure. Avis car rentals in Roanoke offers a wide range of vehicle types to cater to your specific needs. For budget-conscious travelers, Avis’s economy cars provide excellent fuel efficiency and maneuverability, making them ideal for exploring Roanoke’s city streets and nearby towns. If you’re seeking a balance between affordability and comfort, Avis’s intermediate cars offer ample legroom and trunk space, perfect for road trips along Roanoke’s scenic Blue Ridge Parkway. For families or groups embarking on outdoor adventures, Avis’s SUVs provide ample space for passengers and luggage, making them ideal for exploring the rugged terrain of Shenandoah National Park or the Blue Ridge Mountains. For larger groups or those transporting cargo.
  • Avis car rentals in Roanoke rewards its loyal customers with the Avis Preferred program, offering a host of benefits to enhance your travel experiences. Enrollment is simple and free, making it an excellent choice for frequent renters. Customers accrue points on every qualifying rental, redeemable for free rental days, upgrades, and accessories. You may also benefit from expedited service, including priority counter service, dedicated phone lines, and preferred parking at select locations. Membership helps in staying updated on special promotions, discounts, and member-only benefits throughout the year.
  • Since plans sometimes change, Roanoke's Avis Car Rentals provides a flexible cancellation policy to meet your needs. If you cancel a prepaid reservation more than 24 hours prior to the scheduled pickup time, there is a $50 cancellation fee. However, there will be a $150 processing fee if you cancel less than 24 hours before the scheduled pickup time. If you need to cancel after the designated pickup time, there are no refunds given. If your reservation is not prepaid, you have up to 24 hours before the specified pickup time to cancel it without incurring any fees. You will be charged the full rental fee for one day if you cancel less than 24 hours before the scheduled pickup time.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Roanoke are around 66% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Roanoke

  • Where are the best pickup locations for Avis car rentals in Roanoke?

    The prime Avis car rental spots in Roanoke include the convenient Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional Airport (ROA) location, ensuring a seamless transition from air to road. Additionally, the downtown Avis at Market Street offers a central hub for exploring the city's charm and attractions. Both locations stand out for their friendly staff, diverse vehicle options, and strategic placement, ensuring a hassle-free start to your journey. These picks blend accessibility with a touch of local flavor, making your Roanoke adventure memorable from the first mile.

  • What are the different car rental benefits or amenities offered by Avis car rentals in Roanoke?

    Avis car rentals in Roanoke pamper customers with perks like GPS navigation systems, ensuring you never miss a scenic route. The 'Choose Your Own Car' feature adds a personal touch, letting you select a vehicle that suits your style and needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi in select models keeps you connected on the go. With efficient service and a diverse fleet, Avis Roanoke elevates your journey, allowing you to navigate the Blue Ridge Parkway or explore downtown with unparalleled comfort and convenience.

  • Where are the best places to park Avis car rentals in Roanoke?

    Roanoke's optimal Avis car rental parking includes the secure Park Roanoke garages downtown, offering hassle-free payments through a user-friendly mobile app. Metered spots along Jefferson Street provide convenient short-term parking for quick stops. With ample parking options, finding a spot is a breeze. The well-maintained garages ensure your car's safety, allowing you to explore Roanoke worry-free. Whether strolling through the Historic Market District or enjoying Mill Mountain Park, parking in Roanoke seamlessly enhances your Avis experience.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Roanoke?

    Economy (Mitsubishi Mirage or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Roanoke.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Roanoke?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Roanoke. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Roanoke airport (ROA)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Roanoke airport (ROA)?

    Yes