Book Avis hire cars in Kailua-Kona

Driver's age: 26-65
Fri 1/3
Fri 8/3
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 35%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Kailua-Kona

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Kailua-Kona

Overall rating7.0 GoodBased on 29 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.4
Overall
7.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
2
1
0
0
2
0
5
2.0
They didn't have the vehicle promised. Not okReviewed 19 Feb 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible customer service!!!!will never choose Avis again and I’m a preferred Avis customer that was treated poorlyReviewed 14 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
We were downgraded to a car we didn’t want. We reserved a Kia Soul but were given a Kia forte. The batteries in the key fob were drained and the key fob didn’t work. I had to manually lock and unlock doors. When we asked for a receipt when we returned the rental the representative at Avis was rude and unhelpful. I still don’t have a receipt for the rental.Reviewed 27 Sep 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Fast car checkout and genuinely friendly staffReviewed 10 May 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy to pick up and returnCons:All was goodReviewed 7 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
I felt cheatedPros:Easy and efficient drop offCons:I paid for insurance when booking through KAYAK and was then told there was no insurance on the car. This was an unpleasant surprise after a flight. Travelling with a baby (after a flight) I didn’t have the luxury of time to go through emails and booking details to find out where the confusion (or dishonesty) was. Turned out I bought separate insurance not linked to Avis and the car through KAYAK. So I ended up paying twice and the overall deal was a lot more expensive than it should have been. The Avis attendant also wouldn’t stop chatting unnecessarily so I couldn’t concentrate on the business of getting the car asap and my family to our accommodation. The car was OK but not clean enough but I guess acceptable for a rental.Reviewed 21 Oct 2018
review fromkayak
2.8
Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upCons:Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upReviewed 16 Oct 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Be sure to conduct walk aroundPros:The agent was pleasant and we were assigned the correct car. Cost was what we expected.Cons:The agent expected us to do our own car walkaround and record the results on a form attached to the key. There were several marks on the car - we took photos of the car in the rental parking lot to be safe. Be sure you do a walkaround before leaving with the car.Reviewed 21 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Disaster!Cons:April 2018: The absolute WORST rental car experience I have experienced. Worst of any retail/service experience, for that matter. Over 1 hour in line to get to the counter, only to be given my paperwork and then told to wait outside for another 45 minutes for the car! Management has created a culture of not caring about the customer, and it shows. Staff are surly, slow and uncaring. Exception: Phillip who took pity and went to get our car despite it not being his job. Do not subsidize this failed business and it’s incompetent management.Reviewed 21 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Worst customer service, disgusting carPros:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiCons:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiReviewed 9 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:In and out great customer service, will be back next year and do it againReviewed 23 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
RatesCons:I had a flight delay in Seattle on 1/29 and contacted Avis to advise that I would not arrive until the 30th. They would not extend my pick up date and I had to create a new reservation at a higher rate. What had been an ok rate, I now had to pay more. The rental process, the car, etc. was very good. I'm just disappointed in the rate change due to an airline snafu.Reviewed 3 Mar 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Kailua-Kona?

Address

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Hours

Monday05:00 - 22:30
Tuesday05:00 - 22:30
Wednesday05:00 - 22:30
Thursday05:00 - 22:30
Friday05:00 - 22:30
Saturday05:00 - 22:30
Sunday05:00 - 22:30

Phone

+1 808 327 3000

Good to know

Most popular location

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Most popular car type

Standard

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Kailua-Kona

  • Standard car hire from Avis in Kailua-Kona are around -19% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Kailua-Kona

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Kailua-Kona?

    Standard (Volkswagen Tiguan or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Kailua-Kona.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Kailua-Kona?

    Avis has 1 hire location in Kailua-Kona. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Kona Intl airport (KOA)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Kona Intl airport (KOA)?

    Yes