Book Avis hire cars in Columbus

Columbus, OH, United States
5 Jul — 12 Jul
Same drop-off
Columbus, OH, United States
Tue 5/7
Noon
Tue 12/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Reviews for Avis in Columbus

Overall rating7.7 GoodBased on 65 reviews
Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
8.3
Overall
7.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.6
Value for money
7.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
9
2
5
7
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Cons:Parking in lot is terrible. They share a lot with a car dealer and there is barely enough room to drive through lot. Almost zero parking when we picked up. Car was not clean - both inside and outside, but we were stuck with the choice. Soon as I drove off the lot, the sensor said there was a flat tire. Sure enough the rear driver tire had a nail in it! Again, we had to have the car and returning it wasn't really an option. Tire Discounters fixed for free. When we returned, it was two hours after they were said to be open, but I still had to wait 45 minutes for someone to show up and unlock the place. When checking out, the guy just printed out the bill and gave it to me without going over it. I stayed until he did. I also tried calling customer service while waiting and the automated answering wasn't helpful at all. All in all, the customer service is not good and I've had better, cleaner rental vehicles elsewhere.Reviewed 13 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Car was niceCons:The car hand not been cleaned and Avis had one person working the counter and he had to also go get the cars. It took 1 hour and 50 minutes to get my car!!!!!! Unacceptable.Reviewed 11 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Drop off was easy.Cons:It took a long time to pick up the car (40 minutes) even though there was only one person in front of me in line. The cars weren't ready. I had absolutely no choice, and the car was not what I had ordered. It was really flashy--something I did not want at all as a woman travelling alone.Reviewed 21 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:I made a reservation for a big car but it wasn’t quite large enough for what I needed, when I went back to see if I could upgrade to a bigger one, they changed the paperwork and within a few minutes for no charge, I had a bigger car ready to go! Thanks again!!Cons:Directions into the rental car pickup/dropoff locations in the airport. It was a little confusing and took us a while for figure outReviewed 12 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
Watch for added chargesCons:Billled me $50 extra for fuel (I returned it full) and added insurance that I did not buy with the reservation. avis removed fuel charge but only 1/2 of the insurance charge after I complained. Not renting from againReviewed 25 Nov 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I didn’t like that they ended up not even having a car for me that I reserved 3 days in advance. Terrible service. I will never rent a car from Avis again!!! Their solution was for me to do a round trip rental when I needed a one way. Obviously that was not going to work for me.Reviewed 16 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Great servicePros:Professional and courteous.Cons:NothingReviewed 5 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Terrible! Avis sales person at the counter kept trying to sell me things and get me to upgrade for big $ when I was checking in. Wouldn't honor my Preferred status. The car was cheap, dirty, and wouldn't start on occasion. Customer service at Avis was terrible. Never did assist when I tried to fix the problems while enroute to my destination. Maybe that's their new sales technique if you just go with a standard car rather than allowing them to "up" your rental agreement at check-in.Reviewed 28 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Bad carPros:The car was old, high mileage, bad electronics--crappy.Reviewed 16 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:The pick up and return process is pretty simple.Cons:The price was $391 at the rental counter. The price on Kayak was $152. The rep corrected it. Still waiting for the charge to post to my credit card so I can verify the correct price was charged.Reviewed 5 Sep 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Avis was terrible!!Cons:My reservation time was 3pm for a mini van. I did not get my SUV until 5:30pm. Apparently reservation means nothing to Avis I not only got the wrong kind of vehicle I got it 2 1/2 hrs late! As for Kayak the contract was not very clear on the LIMITED millage and apparently do not really partner with Avis on the insurance, which is also not clear when booking!Reviewed 13 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Good rentalPros:The car was newer and ran smooth.Cons:The car was not cleaned on the inside or outside. The customer service representative just pointed the direction to look for the vehicle at pick up.Reviewed 10 Jun 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Columbus?

4106 International Gateway, Avis car hires

Address

4106 International Gateway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Sunday00:00 - 01:0008:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 01:0008:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00

Phone

+1 380 867 0002

Address

4621 West Broad Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday09:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 614 851 0508

Address

104 East Long Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday11:00 - 14:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00

Phone

+1 614 224 4259

Address

6060 Busch Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday09:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 614 436 3218

Address

240 South Hamilton Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday12:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 614 577 0657

Address

1400 Bethel Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday10:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 614 538 0488

Address

1030 West 3rd Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday13:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00

Phone

+1 614 299 0964

Good to know

Most popular location

4106 International Gateway

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Columbus

  • Mini car hires from Avis in Columbus are around -55% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Columbus