Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Columbus

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 23/5
Thu 30/5
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 41%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Columbus

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Columbus

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating7.0 GoodBased on 50 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
8.1
Overall
7.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
9
7
2
2
0
0
11
8.0
G OldReviewed 29 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
wash the cars before rent and full gas tank.Reviewed 2 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
The worst customer service ever from start to fighting finish!Reviewed 19 Nov 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
not to wait 35" at the counter before Ito get my car...Reviewed 30 Sep 2023
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Drop off was easy.Cons:It took a long time to pick up the car (40 minutes) even though there was only one person in front of me in line. The cars weren't ready. I had absolutely no choice, and the car was not what I had ordered. It was really flashy--something I did not want at all as a woman travelling alone.Reviewed 21 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:I made a reservation for a big car but it wasn’t quite large enough for what I needed, when I went back to see if I could upgrade to a bigger one, they changed the paperwork and within a few minutes for no charge, I had a bigger car ready to go! Thanks again!!Cons:Directions into the rental car pickup/dropoff locations in the airport. It was a little confusing and took us a while for figure outReviewed 12 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
Watch for added chargesCons:Billled me $50 extra for fuel (I returned it full) and added insurance that I did not buy with the reservation. avis removed fuel charge but only 1/2 of the insurance charge after I complained. Not renting from againReviewed 25 Nov 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I didn’t like that they ended up not even having a car for me that I reserved 3 days in advance. Terrible service. I will never rent a car from Avis again!!! Their solution was for me to do a round trip rental when I needed a one way. Obviously that was not going to work for me.Reviewed 16 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Great servicePros:Professional and courteous.Cons:NothingReviewed 5 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Terrible! Avis sales person at the counter kept trying to sell me things and get me to upgrade for big $ when I was checking in. Wouldn't honor my Preferred status. The car was cheap, dirty, and wouldn't start on occasion. Customer service at Avis was terrible. Never did assist when I tried to fix the problems while enroute to my destination. Maybe that's their new sales technique if you just go with a standard car rather than allowing them to "up" your rental agreement at check-in.Reviewed 28 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Bad carPros:The car was old, high mileage, bad electronics--crappy.Reviewed 16 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:The pick up and return process is pretty simple.Cons:The price was $391 at the rental counter. The price on Kayak was $152. The rep corrected it. Still waiting for the charge to post to my credit card so I can verify the correct price was charged.Reviewed 5 Sep 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Columbus?

Address

4106 International Gateway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday00:00 - 01:0008:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Friday00:00 - 01:0008:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Sunday00:00 - 01:0008:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 380 867 0002

Address

1717 W 5th Ave

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 614 486 8261

Address

3949 West Broad Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 614 851 0508

Address

104 East Long Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday11:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 614 224 4259

Address

6060 Busch Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 614 436 3218

Address

240 South Hamilton Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday12:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 614 577 0657

Address

4810 Sawmill Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday10:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 614 538 0488

Address

1030 West 3rd Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday13:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 614 299 0964

Good to know

Most popular location

4106 International Gateway

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Columbus

  • It is a good idea to book Avis car rentals in Columbus, Ohio, because having your own vehicle gives you the flexibility to explore and travel on your own schedule. If you're planning to stay in the city and primarily need a car for urban driving and commuting, a standard or full-size sedan is a practical choice. If you're visiting Columbus during pleasant weather and want to enjoy the open road, consider renting a convertible for a fun and exciting experience. For eco-conscious travelers, you might opt for a hybrid or electric vehicle to reduce your environmental footprint and save on fuel costs.
  • The Avis Preferred loyalty program provides numerous advantages to individuals who book Avis car rentals in Columbus. Members can enjoy expedited service at the preferred service counter, reducing wait times and ensuring priority assistance, which is particularly valuable during peak travel seasons. Avis Preferred members earn points for each eligible rental, which can be later redeemed for complimentary rental days. The more you rent with Avis, the more points you can accumulate.
  • Understanding Avis's cancellation policy is essential when you book Avis car rentals in Columbus. In the event of a cancellation, Avis typically processes the refund within approximately seven business days, and the refunded amount is credited back to the original credit card used for prepayment. It's important to be aware that there is usually a processing fee if you choose to cancel a prepaid reservation before the scheduled rental date, although the specific fee amount can vary. Additionally, if you return the rental vehicle earlier than the originally scheduled return date, Avis typically does not provide a refund for the unused portion of the payment.
  • For those planning to book Avis car rentals in Columbus, it's worth noting that Avis offers various extras to enhance your rental experience. These include GPS navigation devices to assist with navigation in unfamiliar areas, child car seats designed to ensure the safety and comfort of young passengers, and a range of fuel service options, including the choice to prepay for a full tank or return the vehicle without refueling. These options cater to different travel needs and preferences.
  • Mini car hire from Avis in Columbus are around -38% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Columbus

  • Where can I find an Avis location in Columbus?

    Avis has a number of locations in the Columbus area, one of which is sure to be convenient for any traveler. When you are right in the heart of Columbus, you will find a location at 104 East Long Street. If you are northwest of the center of the city in the Grandview Heights neighborhood, you will find a location at 1030 West 3rd Avenue. Finally, when you are east of the city in the Whitehall neighborhood, you will find a location at 240 South Hamilton Road.

  • Why do people choose to rent from Avis in Columbus?

    Avis offers competitive rental rates, making it a cost-effective choice for your rental needs. By comparing rates and considering the benefits of Avis Preferred, you can often find good value for your money. Avis rental staff are knowledgeable about their vehicles and rental processes and are there to assist you throughout the rental process. If you have questions or need guidance, don't hesitate to ask. They can help with completing the necessary paperwork, explaining rental policies, and addressing any concerns you may have.

  • Where are some options for parking my rental in Columbus?

    Columbus has on-street parking available throughout the city. Parking meters generally charge hourly rates, which can vary based on the area. Rates are typically around $0.50 to $1 per hour. Columbus offers several parking garages and lots in and around the downtown area. Rates can vary depending on the location and time of day. Hourly fees for parking in garages typically range from $2 to $5 per hour. If you plan to visit popular areas like the Short North Arts District or the Arena District, there are dedicated parking structures and metered spaces available. Parking rates in these areas can vary depending on the location and time.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Columbus?

    Mini (Chrysler Pacifica or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Columbus.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Columbus?

    Avis has 8 hire locations in Columbus. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Columbus airport (CMH)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Columbus airport (CMH)?

    Yes