Book Avis hire cars in Charleston

Charleston, SC, United States
29 Jun — 6 Jul
Charleston, SC, United States
Tue 29/6
Noon
Tue 6/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Charleston

Overall rating6.6 GoodBased on 29 reviews
Cleanliness
6.6
Comfort
6.6
Overall
6.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
13
8
3
5
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:nothingCons:attempted to overcharge! abbusive employees! no apology when caught !!!! am a 30 year PREFERRED customer.Reviewed 15 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:The woman at the counter was rude.Reviewed 24 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Great service and value for the money.Pros:Ease of doing business.Reviewed 18 May 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Was upgraded without charge. Friendly staff. Easy electronic paperwork.Cons:Lines were long but we were second so it was OK.Reviewed 29 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Rental in CharlestonPros:Rental went extra smooth and price was excellent!Reviewed 1 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
car too small for my needsCons:car too small for my needs and a different car would have me waiting an additional 30 minutesReviewed 6 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The rental offfice at 390 Meeting St was closed when I went to pick up my car so I had to arrange a new rental the following day. The office was at the Sears Auto Center which is closing and the Avis people could’t open up until 15 minutes late. My rental was for one day and cost me $150 which did. include $30 for insurance. The Avis agents were courteous but my overall experience was not good. Avis is moving out of the Sears Auto Center as I understand it. As for the office at Meeting St, I had called Avis and was lead to believe I couldn’t get the car until after 12 but the office closed at 12.Reviewed 19 Jun 2018
review fromkayak
9.6
Quick and easyPros:the whole process was easy and the associate I worked with were very kind. This was a one way rental and I really appreciated not being charged an exorbitant fee for dropping the car at a different location.Cons:The car only had half a tank of gas when I picked it up.Reviewed 26 Jun 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:We received an upgrade car from the one we reserved. Drop off at ATL airport rental car center was quick and convenient.Cons:Pickup at CHS was a little slow. Car had a strong smoker smell, but we didn’t want to delay our trip any further by going back to ask for another one.Reviewed 6 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Airport confusionPros:I wanted a rental car from the airport as I always do . Somehow your site took me to a pick up at a local mall. Given my time from and being unaware that that was the arrangement I wa horribly inconvenienced I wond up getting one from the airport and paying twice the priceCons:The codes you use for location were confusing Even the desk clerk said soReviewed 4 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Car was very clean, no issues with driving at all.Cons:This location is an off-airport type, and there was no transportation to and from the airport. The drop-off up-charge was $120, which seems excessive.Reviewed 23 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Systems were downPros:Convenient airport location and drop-off areaCons:Systems were down so they just told me to leave the car there without any documents.Reviewed 6 Nov 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Charleston?

5500 International Blvd, Avis car hires

Address

5500 International Blvd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 843 767 7030

Address

2070 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard Space 804

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday10:00 - 14:00
Sunday12:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 843 402 9626

Address

390 Meeting Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 843 577 9705

Good to know

Most popular location

5500 International Blvd

Most popular car type

Mini

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Charleston

  • Mini (Dodge Grand Caravan or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Charleston.

  • Avis has 3 car hire locations in Charleston. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes