Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Charleston

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 30/4
Tue 7/5
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 43%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Charleston

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Charleston

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating5.3 FairBased on 63 reviews
Cleanliness
5.9
Comfort
6.3
Overall
5.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.4
Value for money
5.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
4
0
3
2
0
24
2.0
Terrible. Waited in line at desk, paid and headed to garage. Then waited over an hour for a vehicle. No cars and not nice staff.Reviewed 20 Mar 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
They did an excellent job.Reviewed 28 Dec 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Everything was easy and as-planned. The only thing that wasn’t great was that I didn’t have obvious instructions for the drop off procedure for the small airport I was dropping off the car at. I wish Avis would have sent me instructions for the drop off at my specific location.Reviewed 24 Nov 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:should’ve have been more courteous send us an email explaining the company has no vehicles before the date of pickup, I lost a day of work thinking my reservation was good but I was told “Life happens “Cons:Notifications or warnings before the date of pickupReviewed 18 May 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:We received an upgrade car from the one we reserved. Drop off at ATL airport rental car center was quick and convenient.Cons:Pickup at CHS was a little slow. Car had a strong smoker smell, but we didn’t want to delay our trip any further by going back to ask for another one.Reviewed 6 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Pick up and drop off was quick and easy.Cons:Car smelled of cigarette smoke.Reviewed 10 Jun 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:The car was givenTo us with only a quarter of a tank of gas. The clerk said that he would put this in the computer and we would not be charged for a full tank upon return. He did not document this in the computer. Upon pick up, we noticed several ants crawling out of the ventilation system. When trying to phone Avis to tell them about this and for the potential of exchanging the car, the agent was unable to help us in anyway. She would not put us through to any other customer service agent, And she indicated that she was unable to document this in our record. So, in essence we picked up a car that had only a quarter of a tank of gas and was crawling with ants.Reviewed 2 Nov 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Staff at both pick up and drop off were excellent, very polite and helpful. Drop off location in Charlotte was a little difficult to find/notice due to location and store frontage, but figured it out after calling that office.Cons:Drop off location signage.Reviewed 17 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Check in process fairly quick.Cons:Chose to return car with gas full with gas I bought. In the check in process in rental return they added $15.88 for gas. He could not remove it in the lot. Had to go inside and wait in line. She said that because I drove less than 74 miles, it adds that charge no matter. This is not right.Reviewed 23 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
$700 debit card depositCons:I expected $200 plus rental. WOW. Denied. Stuck on a Sunday with limited options. Had to borrow a friends car. I understand it was my responsibility to check ahead but i rent cars. Never 700Reviewed 13 Oct 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The lady @Mansell office was super sweet and knew her customers..and, waited for someone running late,with an EXCEPTIONAL ATTITUDE..so I give this an excellent rating.. the staff at Charlston airport, not as helpful,organized friendly or knowledgeable..I had my reservation and rental policy insurance ready for her to see, and she said" drivers license and credit card" then asked for what I was prepared to show her..Short, slow line..Reviewed 23 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Service friendly. Great price!Cons:NothingReviewed 2 Jul 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Charleston?

Address

5500 International Blvd

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Wednesday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Thursday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59
Friday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday00:00 - 01:0007:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00

Phone

+1 843 767 7030

Address

2070 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday10:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 843 402 9626

Address

390 Meeting Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday10:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 843 577 9705

Good to know

Most popular location

5500 International Blvd

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Charleston

  • Compact car hire from Avis in Charleston are around 24% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Charleston

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Charleston?

    Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Charleston.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Charleston?

    Avis has 3 hire locations in Charleston. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Charleston airport (CHS)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Charleston airport (CHS)?

    Yes