Book Avis hire cars in Oakland

Oakland, CA, United States
9 Dec — 16 Dec
Same drop-off
Oakland, CA, United States
Thu 9/12
Noon
Thu 16/12
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Oakland

Overall rating7.4 GoodBased on 47 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.6
Overall
7.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.6
Value for money
7.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
12
1
5
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
Cons:The price that was quoted on Kayak was $10 lower than what Avis charged me. Avis couldn’t tell me why the final price was higher.Reviewed 17 Feb 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Car smelled like smokePros:Apple CarPlay in the vehicleCons:The car smelled terrible. When I told them upon check in, they didn’t careReviewed 28 May 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
ExcellentPros:FriendlyReviewed 29 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Easy to useCons:PriceReviewed 16 May 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Clean carReviewed 2 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
4.4
Unhappy CustomerCons:Reserved a mid sized car and was given a Jeep Patriot CUV. Interior of car had a unpleasant smell i.e faint odor of cigarette smoke. Coarse engine, loud road noise, and rough ride made for a mediocre driving experience. Also, I had declined rental damage insurance but was charged $17.95 on my credit card for insurance. Attempted to call Avis using telephone number on rental agreement. Automated answering service forwarded my call to another car company. Finally reached Avis customer service and was informed they had no record of my credit card being charged for insurance. Still trying to resolve issue.Reviewed 22 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Don't rent from AVIS!Pros:After waiting in line that didn't move for over 30 min, we went to Alamo! We got the same car, cheaper and in and out in 10 minutes! Avis was understaffed and lacked customer service!Cons:AVIS lacks customer service! We were sched to pick up our car at 9 am. There was a line of 12 other people a head of me, the person at the front of the line had been waiting for a hour!!! Horrible service!!! Never Again!!!Reviewed 2 May 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Smell of the carCons:Car was smooth and worked well but for a 30000 mileage nice SUV Not sure why smelt so bad. And you can not know these things until you are in it and have signed the contract.Reviewed 2 May 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Cons:The drop off in Oakland Airport is very confusing to find the correct entrance to their parking lot, but not too bad.Reviewed 20 Feb 2016
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Process was smooth and quick for both pickup and drop off. There was someone working at the counter at 12:30am when we arrived, and we were able to get a car seat that hadn't been reserved.Cons:They charged $50 for rental of the car seat. : (Reviewed 11 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:AvailabilityCons:Slow lines checking in, car was covered with splashed bugs in the front, the in convince of waiting for a bus going and coming, and the crowds/lines thereReviewed 12 Sep 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Dirty car and tagged with profanityPros:N/ACons:Bad service, dirty vehicle, incorrect information on my contract vs what is on the car in reference to miles and gas gauge. Most importantly the car had profanity tagged on it. Ridiculous! Manager gave me no time.Reviewed 12 Sep 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Oakland?

2428 Webster Street, Avis car hires

Address

2428 Webster Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 510 835 2910

Address

7600 Earhart Road

Hours

Monday07:00 - 20:00
Tuesday07:00 - 20:00
Wednesday07:00 - 20:00
Thursday07:00 - 20:00
Friday07:00 - 20:00
Saturday07:00 - 20:00
Sunday07:00 - 20:00

Phone

+1 510 577 6360

Good to know

Most popular location

7600 Earhart Road

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Oakland

  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in Oakland are around -4% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Oakland