Book Avis hire cars in Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
31 Jan — 7 Feb
Same drop-off
Dublin, Ireland
Mon 31/1
Noon
Mon 7/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Dublin

Overall rating6.3 GoodBased on 59 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
6.4
Overall
6.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.2
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
9
6
10
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.4
Pros:Extremely rude staff, particularly the woman working at the counter in Terminal 2 and the shuttle bus driver. Additional charges applied at time of collection which were not transparent during booking process. Car provided was much smaller than that advertised for the category. Slow pick-up/drop-offCons:Everything, would never rent from them againReviewed 9 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Car was great - ran smoothly, was easy to handle and was efficient on gas.Cons:Dublin Airport Pickup Location was understaffed. Waited 40 mins for my scheduled pickup to be ready. Avis charged the cost of the rental for insurance - way overpriced.Reviewed 27 Sep 2016
review fromkayak
9.6
Cheaper than taxi!Pros:Pick-up straightforward, no hard sell of extra insurance. Very good rate - I got to airport late and my own car was in garage - cheaper to rent car for 5 days than get a taxi home.Cons:I needed to add a few days, which turned out to be expensive.Reviewed 9 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:We were not told that our insurance would not cover like it does in the USA so we were charged an exorbitant amount for insurance and we were also told if we showed our Costco card our spouse could drive the car with no extra charge and they refused that too- it took us over an hour to pick our car up so it was very frustrating experienceReviewed 9 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Staff were very helpful at Avis but the insurance fees were outrageous and tripled the cost of the rental. That being said, I cannot commend them enough for how they handled our return of the car early due to COVID-19Cons:Quote insurance in advance and do a better job describing luggage space. We did not have enough space for 4 large pieces of luggage in this carReviewed 22 Mar 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Hidden feesCons:On the website you get fooled by low prices saying your rental is only 7-10 bucks a day. Then when you pick your car up they tell you about the manadatory insurance you have to pay. I picked the lowest coverage and it was 750 for 10 days on top off what I already paid for the car. So I ended up paying almost 1000 dollars to rent a car for 10 days. What a joke.Reviewed 23 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cancelled carPros:NilCons:Didn't like attitude of counter staff on surprising news that as we had booked on a US website we were required to pay €12,500 immediately from our credit card before collecting our hire car. Also unknown to us a copy of our insurance was expected. Consequently we cancelled the car.Reviewed 8 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Beware of FeesPros:Clean carCons:Charged 30 euro as a "service fee" for allowing me to use my own insutance. Shameful...Reviewed 4 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
5.6
High pressure to get insurance and paid more thanPros:Car was ok.Cons:Extremely high pressure to get extra insurance. They were making up laws. Once I looked them up online, they started to back off. Took almost an hour to get the car. Also, they charged me more than what was on the original reservation. They said I needed to contact corporate to have the price adjusted. Never using Avis again.Reviewed 2 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Nice vehicle.Cons:Car insurance through Avis was more than twice the cost of the quoted rate. Web site poor at explaining cost and coverage, so I called twice and spoke to 2 different reps to clarify.Reviewed 7 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Unsatisfactory and unprofessionalCons:The woman at the Dublin Airport Avis booth quoted double the cost of online quote. The workers were unprofessional, not accommodating. I rented same car from Sixt Irish car rental for half the price. I will not use Avis!Reviewed 13 Aug 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:We showed up at the rental car office and our reservation was cancelled.Reviewed 3 Oct 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Dublin?

38 Old Kilmainham Rd, Avis car hires

Address

38 Old Kilmainham Rd

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Address

Arrivals Hall

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Address

149 Lower Drumcondra Road

Phone

+353 1 605 7572

Address

39 Old Kilmainham Rd

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Good to know

Most popular location

Arrivals Hall

Most popular car type

Economy

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Dublin