Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Santa Barbara

Driver's age: 26-65
qui 20/6
qui 27/6
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 40%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Santa Barbara

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Santa Barbara

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating8.5 Very GoodBased on 25 reviews
Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.8
Overall
8.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
8.6
Value for money
8.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
9
2
0
1
1
0
0
10.0
Great!Reviewed 1 Feb 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The staff at pickup in Santa Barbara used deceitful tactics to pressure us into paying for an upgrade.Reviewed 26 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff Sue gave me a car that needed an oil change and didn’t apply insurance to vehicle. Then when I swopped the cars I needed to make a new contract That didn’t honor the daily rate and cut my trip by 2 daysCons:Honesty and accountability of the staffReviewed 27 Jun 2020
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Friendly and professional staff.Cons:The rental car was not in the space on my card. No car was parked in that space. Luckily there was an attendant in the lot who approached me and found my car, and I did not have to return to the terminal.Reviewed 24 Jun 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Accommodated special requestReviewed 8 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
2.4
Unfriendly staff / Very Hard to locateCons:I have lieved in SB for 40 years and have driven to the airport many times. I drove past the Avis return 2x before finding it. The parking area is very poorly lit at night and the sinage is terrible. There are no arrows, signs,etc as to where to return the keys, the car, etc. The staff at the Avis desk was most unhelpful. The attendant appeared lazy and like I was bothering her to return the keys. I had the impression I had really interrupted her evening and she had more important things to do than check me out ad take the keys back. Very poor expereince.Reviewed 5 Nov 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Didn't have to wait in a long line for pickup or drop off. Car worked well.Reviewed 17 Jun 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:the car was easy to drive - good gas milage - very comfortable - service was quick.Reviewed 26 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Failed to provide fullntank on pick up and no maps in carCons:No paper maps in car or available at pickup. Tank was supposed to be full. When i filled up from empty it showed 535 miles yet we traveled less Than 400 miles.Reviewed 28 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Hard to find where to drop offPros:She was nice and sympathetic to my horrible experience with the car, but didn't do much other than to say call LAX and complain.Cons:Hard to figure out where to turn the keys in. I could find the lot, but no signs that you need to go into the terminal. It was dark... so if there are signs I didn't see them.Reviewed 13 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
Not what it seemed - guy plugged in too many extraPros:Van was great, pickup was convenient, price seemed good, Drop-off easyCons:So day rate meant additional charges, including mileage and hours. That wasn't mentioned in the booking online. I bought the insurance through Kayak's site, but the guy said it was useless, should have bought avis insurance and tried to tack it on.Reviewed 14 Feb 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Santa Barbara?

Address

305 East Haley Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday10:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 805 965 1079

Address

500 Fowler Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 805 964 4848

Good to know

Most popular location

500 Fowler Road

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Santa Barbara

  • Economy car hire from Avis in Santa Barbara are around -59% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Santa Barbara

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Santa Barbara?

    Economy (Kia Rio or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Santa Barbara.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Santa Barbara?

    Avis has 2 hire locations in Santa Barbara. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Los Angeles airport (LAX)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Los Angeles airport (LAX)?

    Yes