Book Avis hire cars in Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA, United States
3 Feb — 10 Feb
Same drop-off
Santa Barbara, CA, United States
Fri 3/2
Noon
Fri 10/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car hire prices in Santa Barbara

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
People mover
Passenger van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Santa Barbara

Overall rating8.3 Very GoodBased on 24 reviews
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.5
Overall
8.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
8.4
Value for money
8.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
10
4
1
2
1
0
1
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Easy pick and up and drop off. New and clean car, gas tank full, great experience as always!Reviewed 30 Sep 2022
review fromkayak
8.0
The pick up line was pretty Long at SBC. Attendant worked as best as able with number of people.Reviewed 25 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Seth was excellentReviewed 15 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
Loved the Mustang. Perfect car for a California road trip. I had reserved a convertible, however, and because I arrived 6 hours after my reserved pick-up time, I had to settle for a hardtop. My fault (though I really had no idea about timing when I booked the trip months ago), but I felt a bit overcharged paying the same price as a convertible. Sure, Avis puts them in the same class, but obviously, convertibles are far rarer as leased vehicles and should cost more. That's life, I guess. My other comment is I dearly wish Avis rented vehicles with manual transmissions. I realize it's a dying breed because fat, lazy Americans only know how to drive automatics, but why encourage such sloth? Distinguish yourselves in the marketplace by offering a few sticks. At purchase, such cars are a bit cheaper anyway, and you can rent them for the same or more than an automatic, so it's win-win for everyone. Giving in to American tastes is just lowering the bar. These people still buy minivans and eat at McDonald's, and no one ever went broke underestimating consumers in this nation. All of which is to say, offer more manuals, please.Reviewed 13 Jul 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Seats could not be adjusted properly.Reviewed 29 May 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
The line at the counter was long but the staff moved it quickly. It didn’t have a car that I reserved, so I took a Frontier compact truck. The price was good and the return at a different location in Southern California was easy and painless.Reviewed 3 Apr 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
I found the lowest price for an SUV on Avis 4 days before the trip using Kayak, the morning of pick up I called to see if I could get a bigger SUV. YES! For only $25.00. More a day! I had an Expedition for 10 days for less than $800.00. I feel I saved $2800.00 Thank you!Reviewed 20 Dec 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
I was not told there would be a $370 deposit for the car. It is still on my credit card and I’m awaiting the credit.Reviewed 24 Nov 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
The staff was very friendly in Santa Barbara.Reviewed 24 Nov 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Little more explanation of car details/ how to open fill cap, toll road transponder,Reviewed 18 Nov 2021
review fromkayak
5.9
Avis did not have the car I reserved when I arrived even though I called them that my plane was arriving an hour late and they assured me they would honor my reservation. It took an hour before they had a car that was within the size range I reserved and were trying to give me a much larger, uneconomical car. I refused it and they finally gave me a suitable replacement. The car I finally ended up with was great... Hopefully, this is all due to pandemic problems because the price was also triple of what I have paid in the past...Reviewed 21 Jul 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The staff at pickup in Santa Barbara used deceitful tactics to pressure us into paying for an upgrade.Reviewed 26 May 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Santa Barbara?

305 East Haley Street, Avis car hires

Address

305 East Haley Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 805 965 1079

Address

500 Fowler Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 805 964 4848

Good to know

Most popular location

500 Fowler Road

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Santa Barbara

  • Economy car hire from Avis in Santa Barbara are around 67% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Santa Barbara