Book Avis hire cars in Panama City

Panama City, Panama
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Panama City, Panama
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Panama City

Overall rating4.3 OkayBased on 25 reviews
Cleanliness
5.1
Comfort
5.0
Overall
3.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.2
Value for money
3.5

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
1
1
3
7
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Kayak sold me Void insurancePros:NOTHING... wasted 3 hours of my day.. wasted lots of cab fare and in the end.. NO rental carCons:That Kayak is unreliable and doesn't know its partner car rentals. Bought the insurance proposed by the website (Allianz) while booking my car. Upon collection, Avis refused the insurance claiming it was void with Avis. New insurance proposed cost 3x the price already paid. Refused to pay so much.. alternative was to block 10000 on my credit card.. card got refused of course and so left, with no rental car. Kayak customer service sent standard email shifting blame elsewhere.. as was same with Allianz... customer left stranded. Rubbish standardised website with no knowledge of what they are selling.Reviewed 4 Nov 2015
review fromkayak
4.8
Kayak deal NOT honouredPros:Rather than being charged 35$ for 5 days as indicated by Kayak we were charged 25$ per day plus insurance. Our total, after we got out of all of the unecessary insurance ($400) was $240 to cover third party and collision, including the $125 for the car. The Avis agent was not adequately answering my questions. The tire began leaking air the moment we got the car (surprsiginly someone else we had met on our trip that rented with Avis also had the same tire Issue) and the tires were balding already. Either Avis is responsible and ripping off customers or Kayaks so called 'deals' are entirely false. We will not reserve a car through either organization again.Reviewed 8 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:They refused the type of car that we had booked. Then tried to oversell the insurance - told us that the insurance we bought did not meet "mandatory" requirements. And finally proceeded to charge a $10,000.00 deposit on our credit card!Cons:Honesty would be helpful.Reviewed 22 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible experiencePros:NothingCons:Waited in line for for over 45 minutes while 2 agents checked in 1 party each, very painful to say the least especially at 9:30 at night. Then to add insult to injury, while 1 agent escorted the party in front of us to their car, the remaining agent left us there. When we questioned her on this she told us her shift was ending. We told her that we were going to speak to her manager and she just laughed it off by saying go ahead. We ended up just leaving and getting a taxi. Never experienced such terrible service and be treated so rudely. I manage over 40 people and if she was my employee she would have been fired on the spot. I know I was in a foreign country however will never use Avis again.Reviewed 28 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Simply they don’t have cars for usReviewed 3 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingReviewed 13 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Staff nice.Cons:Had no idea I would need a 10000 deposit if I used my own insurance coverage- giving a company jn a foreign country 10k wasn’t going to happen so we ended up buying the local insurance which doubled the cost I had planned to use- a huge shocker!!!Reviewed 7 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Rental was not availableCons:Went to pick up the rental and was told it was not available, highly disappointed!Reviewed 5 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
2.4
Pros:Staff at the drop of was friendly.Cons:I made a reservation for a 7 passengers vehicle and they didn't have it, they wanted me to take a 4 passengers instead. Finally they ended giving me an old, dirty and not in the best of shape minivan. They told me that I have to call them if I want to ensure to get the right vehicle.Reviewed 29 Mar 2019
review fromkayak
3.6
Reservation and Insurance not honored.Cons:I arrived 3 in the morning. Presented the reservation and international insurance policy. The receptionist said she couldn't honor the reservation because the insurance company wasn't recognized by Avis Panama. Instead of $75.00 (I also had paid $90.00 for Allinaz Insurance) I was charged $333.10 for the rental. Make sure you have insurance honored by Avis or else you will be stung.Reviewed 31 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Great customer service at the counter and outside at the rental parking lot.Cons:The first couple of parking stalls in Line 1 are difficult to get out of. Would recommend backing the cars in if possible. Panapass toll didn't work on part of the Panama/colon expressway toll. Luckily there was no traffic behind and was able to move over to toll agent booth.Reviewed 20 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Staff and customer service were misleading and unhelpful. We were not able to rent a car as we were being duped into buying liability insurance (separate from collision/theft) we didn't need as the car was insured which resulted in quadruple of the quote. In the end we didn't take the car as the price quoted was not honored and we were asked for $10000 deposit when collision/theft was declined (covered by amex)Cons:Quote should reflect final price instead of surprising the customer at the pick up desk with over 4x the price.Reviewed 5 Jan 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Panama City?

Tocumen Intl Apo, Avis car hires

Address

Tocumen Intl Apo

Hours

Monday06:00 - 21:00
Tuesday06:00 - 21:00
Wednesday06:00 - 21:00
Thursday06:00 - 21:00
Friday06:00 - 21:00
Saturday06:00 - 21:00
Sunday06:00 - 21:00

Phone

+507 238 4056

Address

Victoria Hotel

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+507 213 0555

Address

Marcos A Gelabert Airport Albrook Field

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+507 315 0434

Address

Ave De La Rotonda

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:0013:00 - 17:00

Phone

+507 278 9444

Good to know

Most popular location

Victoria Hotel

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Panama City

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Panama City are around 54% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Panama City

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Panama City.

  • Avis has 4 car hire locations in Panama City. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes