Book Avis hire cars in Keflavik

Keflavik, Iceland
23 Oct — 30 Oct
Keflavik, Iceland
Sat 23/10
Noon
Sat 30/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Keflavik

Overall rating7.2 GoodBased on 24 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
7.3
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.9

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
0
0
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Service at deskPros:The member of staff at the Avis rental desk at KEF airport was fantastic, great knowledge and really friendly The speed of service was also far quicker and felt streamlined in comparison to elsewhereReviewed 16 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Everything went smoothlyPros:Polite, efficient staff. Process went quickly and smoothly. No pressure to buy extra insurance.Cons:A sign at the shuttle stop at the airport would have been great. We had no idea where to stand, or how long the wait would be... and it was very very very cold!Reviewed 22 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Watch out for the insurance upsellPros:car was okCons:High pressure insurance upsell. Make sure you arrange extra insurance coverage with online booking company. Cars and repairs are extremely expensive in Iceland, this Avis is will get you for the smallest scratch and change you the most they can - according to the pushy counter clerk.Reviewed 10 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:easyCons:nothingReviewed 31 May 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
CDW RipofgCons:I bought CDW from the link on the kayak website where I rented the car. I was told by Avis in Reyjkavic they would not honor this policy so I had to bu another policy from Avis. Waited in line over 1 hour to pick up car.Reviewed 15 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Bad airport for rentingCons:Terrible pickup and return experience.Reviewed 30 Sep 2017
review fromkayak
2.4
Cons:They didn't have the car we requested and couldn't put us in any of the several other cars that were in their lot. We ended up renting from someone else.Reviewed 24 Mar 2019
review fromkayak
6.4
The pick up process was extremely slowCons:The line to pick up the car was long and moved very slow. It took us about an hour and 20 minutes to get through it. The person helping us tried hard to sell us on the extra insurance coverage by trying to scare us into buying it even though I already had purchased protection from a third party. The entire check in/ pick up process was very frustrating. After that, the car was fine and the drop off process was flawless.Reviewed 4 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:The representative upon my arrival was very courteous and helpful. The car was relatively easy to find in the parking lot and when we arrived it was very clean and ready for us to go. I also liked that it had a full tank of gas.Cons:I thought the car was a bit pricey for what it was. But maybe that's just because it was in Iceland and everything is expensive in Iceland. Also, I found the car to be a bit small. We had four adults and an infant in a car seat. The description of the vehicle said that it holds 5 and luggage for 5. However it barely held luggage for 3. One of the passengers had to have their luggage on their lap the entire way back to and from the airport. Finally, the drop-off procedure can stand some improving. When I dropped off the vehicle fortunately I had already dropped off the other four individuals at the terminal and I drove the car back by myself. But when I got to the drop-off location it was windy and snowing and raining and very cold and there's no shuttle back to the terminal so I had to walk back in that nasty weather. It wouldn't have been a problem in the summer time but that particular day was nasty.Reviewed 25 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
5.6
RIDICULOUS INSURANCE COSTCons:Upon picking up the car in Reykjavik, Iceland, the Avis employee informed us that the insurance would cost twice the cost of the rental, and did not know if we could cancel it if I found out that my credit card was already providing coverage. He then said it would not be possible to refund my money.Reviewed 14 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Very expensive for the size of carCons:I reserved a Volkswagen and got an under powered Hyundai!Reviewed 5 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
8.8
Good Price in IcelandPros:The price was lower than competition in Iceland. The car was in good shape. The price quoted was the price paid, no extras. You can walk from the airport counter to the parking lot to get your car (in Iceland).Cons:The line at the counter was too long and we waited, and waited and waited. The car we thought we were renting was not available.Reviewed 18 Jul 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Keflavik?

Keflavik International Airport, Avis car hires

Address

Keflavik International Airport

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Tuesday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Wednesday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Thursday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Friday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Saturday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00
Sunday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:00

Good to know

Most popular location

Keflavik International Airport

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Keflavik

  • Mini car hires from Avis in Keflavik are around 59% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Keflavik

  • Mini (Hyundai i10 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Keflavik.

  • Avis has 1 car hire location in Keflavik. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • No (according to our data)

  • Yes