Book Avis hire cars in Detroit

Detroit, MI, United States
29 May — 5 Jun
Same drop-off
Detroit, MI, United States
Sun 29/5
Noon
Sun 5/6
Noon
Driver's age:

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Overall rating6.9 GoodBased on 64 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
7
1
4
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed 30 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed 25 Oct 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed 30 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed 29 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed 8 Feb 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:So easy! Everyone was very friendly and fast. That was my best big city airport rental experience ever!Reviewed 24 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Disappointed in Avis quality controlPros:The Volvo V60 was an awesome car overall — really comfortable, responsive and got good gas mileage.Cons:Almost everything went wrong with this 3 day rental. I wasn’t on Avis Preferred yet that’s my tier listing. The car class we ordered (intermediate SUV) wasn’t available although the parking lot was PACKED with SUVs — we tried to take several others but “they weren’t in the computer” (in all fairness, our agent, Sara, was really great — it appeared to be a back office and operations staff problem). Since we had waited 45 minutes already, we swapped UP to the Volvo V60 - the car stank of cigarette smoke, it hadn’t been washed (why was it in the system if it hadn’t been cleaned?) and it had big scratches on three sides. We stopped at the exit gate and had the nice guy there fill out a damage report including the smoke. Then the low tire pressure guage went off — we filled up the tires and it still stayed on the whole weekend — stressful! We had guests who told us our car stank of smoke.... When we returned it, there was no one there to do a check in (on a Monday at 5pm) for 15 minutes... THen I had to show him my damage report — he wanted to take it — I told him “no way - this is MY copy and you have your own.” Guess he gave up and just charged me. Probably someone else is getting the car without a cleaning also... Detroit - get your act together!Reviewed 8 May 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was easy to drop offCons:Waiting for a bus in the cold was a little longer than I would have likedReviewed 3 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Car was filthy at pickup. Salt on floor mats, sticky gunk in cup holders.Reviewed 21 Jan 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:They had a car when no one else did.Cons:Slow slow slowReviewed 15 Sep 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:The size car was the car promisedCons:from the time of check in to actually driving off the lot was over 3 hours. Customer service was very poor and very slow. Even after being assigned a car from the counter it took over 45 minutes of waiting until it was clean. The car was 1/8 low on gas, the car stunk (probably a smoker before us), and the car was dirty. Overall poor experience with DTW Avis. I never had a problem with Avis at other locations and have rented recently. I the future I will try and avoid Avis DTW.Reviewed 23 Aug 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:wouldn't honor quoted price. hidden fees. terrible service to resolve issue.Reviewed 13 Aug 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Detroit?

Building 295 Lucas Drive, Avis car hires

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Monday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Detroit

  • Mini car hires from Avis in Detroit are around -98% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Detroit