Book Avis hire cars in Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa
27 Sep — 4 Oct
Johannesburg, South Africa
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Johannesburg

Overall rating7.8 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.1
Overall
7.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.1
Value for money
7.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
0
1
0
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
9.6
Consistent excellent sevicePros:Great reception with well trained staff. Everything was ready on time.Cons:Leaving the amazing city....Reviewed 9 May 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed 24 Jan 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed 14 Jan 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed 27 Feb 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:The customer service representatives were very friendly.Cons:They gave me a broken GPS that resulted in my being lost in Jo-burg for three hours. Even after returning the airport to explain the problem, the representative insisted that I simply had the GPS on the wrong setting. After returning to the road, it was obvious that they had no idea what they were talking about. Luckily I saw another Avis location off the highway and turned in there. Even though I believe this was a vehicle service center instead of a rental location, the two young women working that day worked tirelessly to find me a GPS system that actually received satellite information.Reviewed 12 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Bad car with two flat tiresCons:Avis has charged me 1000ZAR for tire damage despite the fact that: a) I'm a preferred member and rent so much from them in the US, b) the car they gave me apparently was not checked properly and likely already had two tires with low pressure that led to flat tires eventually. On top of that they charged me for their own mistake. I also had to pay $ on my own when I had to get one of the flat tires replaced by the spare one on my own when I was on road. Terrible. Worst part they charged me without even notifying me that they were going to do soReviewed 14 Aug 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was a good car for the category I have selected.Cons:The car had some noise in the wheels during the whole renting days, which I could not identify. I believe that if the car has gone through some check before being delivered, this slight problem could be fixed.Reviewed 2 Feb 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Good service at the airport, good quality car. Good milage, good gearing, overall good space, etc.Cons:Driving warnings everywhere in country makes me kinda nervous about the safety of my belongings inside the vehicle. not a problem with AVIS, but something to keep in mind, not sure how to improve it.Reviewed 14 Dec 2015
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy AvisPros:Good clean basic carCons:NothingReviewed 21 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:I give a poor overall rating because I turned the car in on time and undamaged, and their attendant checked the car and indicated everything was OK, but Avis charged my credit card $535. I was expecting a small charge for gas and tolls, but not a charge for $535. Rick JonesReviewed 4 Nov 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
I was cheatedCons:I booked a car and at the booking it said it seats 7 people and 4 suitcases. When I arrived, we were unable to put 4 adults and 4 suitcases in the car. I received a bigger car and had to pay about double the rental price. I was cheated and will warn people from renting from AvisReviewed 22 Sep 2016
review fromkayak
4.8
Bait and switchPros:What the price should have beenCons:Bait and switch insurance tactics. Full coverage turned out to not be full coverage, and they argued and tried to cover up this illegal activity. I eagerly look forward to the final bill, to see what they have tried to add on. I expect to have a legal argument which no one likes. Policy on speeding also not honest, and tolls agreement under question. Basically not an honest Company.Reviewed 8 May 2017
review fromkayak

Other suppliers in Johannesburg scored

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Johannesburg?

Or Tambo Int Apt, Avis car hires

Address

Or Tambo Int Apt

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

46 Alwen Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 11 496 1235

Good to know

Most popular location

Or Tambo Int Apt

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Johannesburg are around 43% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Johannesburg

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Johannesburg.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Johannesburg. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes