Book Avis hire cars in Cape Town

Cape Town, South Africa
28 Jan — 4 Feb
Same drop-off
Cape Town, South Africa
Fri 28/1
Noon
Fri 4/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Cape Town

Overall rating7.9 GoodBased on 51 reviews
Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
8.0
Overall
7.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.6
Value for money
8.0

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
10
7
1
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
7.2
Good car, long queue's, GPS didn't workPros:Good clean car for a good price. Drop off was a smooth and quick process.Cons:Queued for almost an hour to collect a pre booked car. I paid extra to rent a sat nav which didn't work and wouldn't pick up a GPS signal.Reviewed 11 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Good pick up to take us by golf cart into the office from arrivals. Everything ready, good service,no complaintsReviewed 10 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis Cape Town is too focused on very minor scratches--causes worryPros:I rented a minivan/people carrier. It was a low-end model that was small compared to the category rented, but was good value-for-money. I would rather save money than have a "luxury" model minivan with extra bells and whistles. The car fit 7 people (only with no luggage) or 5 people with luggage. Would have been better if the advertisement made that clear, because it said 7 passengers and 4 pieces of luggage, but in truth it's EITHER 5 passengers + 4 pieces of luggage OR 7 passengers and no luggage.Cons:When I picked up the car, Avis asked me to note every scratch on the car. This made me nervous, because I cannot control if someone parks next to me and opens their door into the car making a small scratch. Luckily, during our 12-day rental this did not happen. But when I returned the car, Avis was very, very focused on every little tiny scratch again, and they made me feel like they might charge me for scratches, even if I did not make them. They should allow for normal small scratches without making the customer feel threatened.Reviewed 12 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:First car broke down. The replacement car was satisfactory.Reviewed 21 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The car was small to accommodate daily of 4 and luggage. Low powered engine for hilly drive.Reviewed 28 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Picking up the vehicle was easy and we were treated well. The staff at the pick up area was helpful and friendly.Cons:Returning the car was not as smooth as the pick up. The staff members tried to make us sign a paper assuming responsibilities for damage to the front left wheel. We refused to sign because the "damage" they claimed the wheel suffered was barely visible. We felt targeted.Reviewed 21 Mar 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Smooth, efficient, friendly operationPros:Completely organized - no hitch. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Explained the various insurance options very clearly with no pressure to get more than I needed. Drop-off took about 30 seconds and I was on my way into the airport.Cons:Long line at pickup.Reviewed 7 Nov 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
The store was so poorly run, I left without a carPros:The person who was helping me was nice. But his company is dishonest and the computers in the offices didn't work.Reviewed 23 Dec 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Service was great. Insurance a little hiReviewed 27 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Watch out for hidden chargesPros:The place was clean and safeCons:The rental agents english was poor. He added a ton of unmentioned extra costs.Reviewed 10 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Car was reasonable and the same as the price quoted when we reserved.. We were allowed to use our credit card insurance and service was quick when picking up even though the office was very crowded that evening..Reviewed 13 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
very poor experience - rude employees, old and dirty carPros:location - close to my hotel in cape townCons:price was different than advertised employees were rude car was old, manual gear (automatic is extra charge), and dirty - and I didn't choose the lowest class of cars..Reviewed 21 Jan 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Cape Town?

Cape Town International Apt, Avis car hires

Address

Cape Town International Apt

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+27 21 927 8800

Address

46 Strand Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 424 1177

Address

367 Main Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 797 4581

Address

15 Tower Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 927 3001

Good to know

Most popular location

Cape Town International Apt

Most popular car type

Standard

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • Standard car hires from Avis in Cape Town are around -120% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Cape Town