Book Avis hire cars in Rome

Rome, Italy
31 Jan — 7 Feb
Same drop-off
Rome, Italy
Mon 31/1
Noon
Mon 7/2
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Rome

Overall rating5.7 OkayBased on 42 reviews
Cleanliness
6.3
Comfort
6.1
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.4
Value for money
5.4

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
2
5
9
8
0
Find reviews that mention:
3.6
Cons:The insurance was so high and that was not mentioned when booking the car online. The VAT as well. I would not rent the car if that was mentioned in the site. I found that totally not fear.Reviewed 3 Aug 2019
review fromkayak
7.6
Cons:Long line to rent carReviewed 8 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great rental car dealPros:The price was excellent and the car was very nice (small Ford SUV diesel for economy price). It even had a built-in SATNAV. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and professional.Cons:Location was difficult to find and not convenient if you're staying in the city. The process in the rental was a little antiquated, requiring a lot of paperwork most companies don't use anymore. Maybe it's an Italian thing.Reviewed 24 Sep 2018
review fromkayak
7.6
Great experience, one unexpected chargePros:We had an easy, smooth experience with Avis in Roma Termini. The location is convenient, they have long hours and they spoke enough English for us to clearly understand what we were paying for.Cons:The only disappointment was that they charged us 10€ extra for chains, PER DAY! The chains are required equipment by law in the winter— there should not be a charge for basic equipment requirements. This is equivalent to charging extra for the reflective triangle that’s required by law...this is ridiculous and I will do whatever I can in the future to avoid this charge. You should not take advantage of people this way.Reviewed 4 Mar 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Prices and options totally inconsistantPros:Location for pick up and drop off are well plcedCons:Prices for rentals were all over the place. The price Avis quotes on its selection page is well under the final price. Price was the highest of Hertz, Enterprise and all local optionsReviewed 27 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Understaffed and payment system was downPros:Nothing comes to mindCons:One guy there. He was absolutely struggling. Only three customers, and I was customer #2. It literally took over an hour to get checked out because the system was down.Reviewed 8 May 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Your site recommended an insurance with Alleaz, but they did not recognize it. We were asked to buy their insurance, which costed us near$400. I strongly demand Kayak to refund the cost of insurance($72) I bought from you. EuiReviewed 26 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Worst experience ever. Rented a nice luxury Mercedes for my honeymoon and when we arrived they had a 3 hr line and then didn’t have a car for me. Ended up sticking me in a terrible tiny little fiat with the most uncomfortable and dangerous ride for my pregnant wife. I have never been so upsetReviewed 9 Sep 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Hard sell and damaged carPros:PriceCons:Rented twice here. They always give you the hard sell and put items on your bill without explicit consent. Then they don’t print a contract copy so you have to return to the office to mark additional damage. They basically just do everything they can to make a bit more money or make it hard for you not to be overcharged.Reviewed 29 Apr 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible and totally unprofessional.Pros:NothingCons:They did not give me the car they advertised. I booked a BMW 2 series COUPE or similar. When I reached they offered me a VW golf. The man on the counter argued with me about giving out 5 door cars. A coupe is NEVER a five door!! And are you kidding me with a golf? How are the two cars even comparable? Or similar? I asked him if he had anything similar to the car advertised. He said no and since they were still going to charge me I had to go with the car. Also it's been 4 days now and the hold on my card hasn't been lifted. I never expected for kayak to advertised such lying and cheating vendors. Or at least verify the truthfulness behind what it's vendors were offering. Instead we as customers get stuck in foreign lands with bad deals. Extremely disappointing. Never expected this from KAyak or AvisReviewed 2 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Bait and switchPros:Nice Car spacious and comfortableCons:I had 2 reservations and clearly told them I wanted the one that was less expensive . Brought in my confirmation number and printout and clearly told them what I wanted . They told me I was paying in dollars not euros . I was over charged by approximately $280. Very upsetReviewed 17 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:The car was bigger than I thought for the class size.Cons:Waited for 30 minutes for the car after our paperwork was done. The agent piled on the extra fees and acted like they were all necessary. The insurance costs were half of the base rental price.Reviewed 19 Sep 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Rome?

Corso Di Francia 124/A, Avis car hires

Address

Corso Di Francia 124/A

Hours

Monday08:30 - 19:00
Tuesday08:30 - 19:00
Wednesday08:30 - 19:00
Thursday08:30 - 19:00
Friday08:30 - 19:00
Saturday08:30 - 19:00

Phone

+39 06 4201 6789

Address

Via Sardegna 38 A

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+39 06 4201 6789

Address

Pickup: Via G Giolitti 26 32

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+39 06 481 4373

Address

Via Sant'alessandro 7

Hours

Monday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Friday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 19:00

Address

Aeroporto Roma Fiumicino

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:59
Tuesday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday07:00 - 23:59
Thursday07:00 - 23:59
Friday07:00 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+39 06 6501 1531

Address

Aeroporto Roma Ciampino

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Address

Circonvallazione Gianicolense

Hours

Monday08:30 - 19:0014:30 - 18:00
Tuesday08:30 - 19:0014:30 - 18:00
Wednesday08:30 - 19:0014:30 - 18:00
Thursday08:30 - 19:0014:30 - 18:00
Friday08:30 - 19:0014:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:30 - 19:00

Phone

+39 06 5830 3377

Address

Roma Lido Di Ostia

Hours

Monday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00
Friday08:30 - 19:0015:00 - 18:00

Phone

+39 06 561 2795

Address

Via Teodorico N 48

Hours

Monday14:30 - 18:0008:30 - 19:00
Tuesday14:30 - 18:0008:30 - 19:00
Wednesday14:30 - 18:0008:30 - 19:00
Thursday14:30 - 18:0008:30 - 19:00
Friday14:30 - 18:0008:30 - 19:00
Saturday08:30 - 19:00

Phone

+39 320 456 8652

Address

Via Baldo Degli Ubaldi 116

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+39 063 974 2375

Address

Via Laurentina 665 C

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+39 348 973 7002

Address

Via Tuscolana 503 D

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+39 328 055 6909

Address

Via Di Mezzocammino 256 258

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00

Phone

+39 06 9027 3536

Address

Viale Della Primavera 19

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:0014:30 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:0014:30 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:0014:30 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:0014:30 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:0014:30 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00

Phone

+39 06 5987 9197

Address

Via Degli Abbruzzi 3/a

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Address

Via Degli Abbruzzi 3/a

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+39 348 478 5735

Address

Viale America 270

Hours

Monday15:00 - 18:0009:00 - 18:00
Tuesday15:00 - 18:0009:00 - 18:00
Wednesday15:00 - 18:0009:00 - 18:00
Thursday15:00 - 18:0009:00 - 18:00
Friday15:00 - 18:0009:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00

Good to know

Most popular location

Aeroporto Roma Fiumicino

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

$54/day

Good deal

$39/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Rome

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in Rome for $39 or less
  • Compact car hires from Avis in Rome are around 59% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Rome