Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis hire cars in Christchurch

Driver's age: 26-65
Fri 31/5
Fri 7/6
Here is why travellers choose KAYAK

Save up to 41%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car hire prices in Christchurch

Compact$49/day
Intermediate$54/day
SUV$57/day
Full-size SUV$132/day
Passenger van$122/day
Premium SUV$157/day
Compact SUV$50/day
Intermediate SUV$52/day
Best prices found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Christchurch

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall rating9.6 WonderfulBased on 9 reviews
Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.5
Overall
9.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
9.1
Value for money
9.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
0
0
0
0
0
0
10.0
Really efficient, I liked how helpful the staff were and that they had most of the check in items digitized!Reviewed 29 Jan 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Can't get better than that. Everything was smooth from beginning to end. Both the initial rental and return process went quickly as well and the car itself was great.Reviewed 24 Dec 2023
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:The car was very new, comfortable and clean.Cons:The drop off process was unclear.Reviewed 18 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy, convenient, good car.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed 9 Apr 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Good prices, quality rentalsPros:Pick up was easy, everything was explained. The car was damage free and operated as exspected. It worked space wise for our luggage and was great in the rain.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed 28 Dec 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Did not have an opportunity to add my Wizard number (loyalty program) during purchase online.Reviewed 10 Dec 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience!Pros:Easy access to vehicles from gate exit.Reviewed 26 Jun 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Organized, efficient, not pushy on add-ones, very clean vehicle of low mileage with great extra safety features like lane sensorsCons:nothingReviewed 9 May 2017
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:When we wanted to return at a different location in Christchurch, they were very nice. Highly recommend that you go with Avis and avoid any budget rental agencies in NZ!!Cons:everything was goodReviewed 5 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
8.8
Cons:pickup point too far from airportReviewed 12 Feb 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The customer service was topnotch! She really helped us out in a pinch when we found out our reservation pick up and drop off were not at the airport(s) like we were expecting.Reviewed 17 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Helpful & efficient front desk assistancePros:We liked the simplicity of the procedures & the fact that everything was according to what had been arranged.Reviewed 26 Dec 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Christchurch?

Address

Terminal Building

Hours

Monday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Friday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Saturday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Sunday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59

Phone

+64 3 358 9661

Address

78 Orchard Road

Hours

Monday07:45 - 17:00
Tuesday07:45 - 17:00
Wednesday07:45 - 17:00
Thursday07:45 - 17:00
Friday07:45 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00

Address

150 Kilmore St

Hours

Monday08:00 - 12:00
Tuesday08:00 - 12:00
Wednesday08:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:00
Friday08:00 - 12:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+64 3 930 6103

Good to know

Most popular location

Terminal Building

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

$134/day

Good deal

$83/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Christchurch

  • 25% of our users found car hire from Avis in Christchurch for $83 or less.
  • Book your car hire from Avis in Christchurch at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Economy car hire from Avis in Christchurch are around 44% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Christchurch

  • How much does it cost to hire a car from Avis in Christchurch?

    On average a car hire from Avis in Christchurch costs $134 per day.

  • What is the most popular car hire from Avis in Christchurch?

    Economy (Toyota Yaris or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Christchurch.

  • How many car hire locations does Avis have in Christchurch?

    Avis has 3 hire locations in Christchurch. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hire near you.

  • Does Avis have a car hire location at the airport: Christchurch airport (CHC)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Christchurch airport (CHC)?

    Yes